Bibb县公立学校使用Lightspeed Systems®和MicrosoftTeams®主动识别有自残或暴力危险的学生

在众多在线活动选项中,社交媒体,在线文档,电子邮件,YouTube,应用程序,浏览器,搜索引擎等等,学区在实现确保学生安全所需的可见性方面面临着巨大挑战。 

服务 22,000名学生和4,000名员工, 比布县公立学校 了解需要采用综合方法 不仅仅 过滤 来自不当内容 线上活动,同时提醒管理员 对学生安全和心理的潜在威胁警报信号这就是为什么他们选择Lightspeed 系统篇 (Lightspeed), 微软合作伙伴,以增强他们的事件响应和干预策略。  

中 在COVID-19危机爆发后,比伯县不得不重新想象 它的 过滤方法。大流行之前,他们为大多数学生提供了设备  允许BYOD;但是,他们过渡到了 杂种 在家 和 应对COVID-19的校园内学校环境加快了向每个学生寄送设备回家的需求。但是,他们需求的增长越多,他们现有的过滤解决方案就越缺乏。  

在混合学习模型中, 需要 供Bibb县在校园外过滤设备。 他们 需要一个解决方案 可以支持他们的远程设备,以及 应对以下独特挑战 K-12教育 

使用远程学习,您必须能够过滤掉网络,否则就无法将设备发送回家。我们需要一个针对K-12和K-12需求的内容过滤器,因为它们与财富500强公司有很大不同。”

网络数据和安全协调员Greg Hogan

轻松部署基于云的过滤

一旦Bibb县决定实施 光速滤镜™, 一个 业界领先的网页过滤解决方案, 实施没有花很长时间。  

能够引入内容过滤器并使其在短短几个小时内启动并运行,真是不可思议。使用Lightspeed,您可以在短短几个小时内部署软件并启动仪表板。这说明了产品的设计水平。

网络数据和安全协调员Greg Hogan

虽然起初犹豫不决 放弃管理硬件所附带的控制权 转向完全基于云的解决方案Hogan 我不后悔对Lightspeed表示信任,以过滤其所在区域的网络内外设备。 

“什么 是 如此出色的产品是该代理有效”,霍根说。 我的意思是您安装了它,并且可以工作。而与 [其他 过滤解决方案] 我过去处理过很多东西, 必须 完成工作。 [我很感激]拥有可以部署的东西的简化,而且您知道它会起作用。您不必为此担心。” 

简化报告

Lightspeed 解决方案 不仅允许 霍根 确保他的学生安全– 他们 还完成了一些耗时的任务,例如生成 和分享 报告更易于管理。 借助可自定义的报告信息中心,下钻功能和用户友好的界面,霍根 可以轻松地 确定 有害成分 快速升级重要问题,并返回 焦点  其他优先事项。   

“我们以前的解决方案在报告方面缺乏,您可能会迷失在仪表板中,而Lightspeed在简化报告过程和简化有关内容过滤器管理的一切方面非常出色”,霍根说。  

 在Lightspeed提供的许多报告中,Hogan最依赖标记的内容报告使用过去的过滤解决方案,对于Hogan而言,报告过程以前是非常手工的。它要求他构建一个电子邮件模板,在其中可以插入已标记活动的屏幕截图。带Lightspeed过滤器,他所做的只是向管理员发送链接,以便他们可以跟踪事件。 

 “我的报告时间大大缩短了,” 添加 霍根“这使我的工作变得非常轻松  它减少了我要做的很多工作  将信息传达给需要它的人。我正在为整个地区处理[内容过滤],这说明了该产品的销量。我可以轻松地管理成千上万的学生和教职员工,并且仍然可以做我需要做的所有其他事情。” 

使用Lightspeed Alert™预防自残,自杀和学校暴力

在学生安全方面,学校员工与管理人员之间的有效沟通至关重要。地区 必须 准备在正确的时间向正确的人提供正确的信息。 

 此外 光速滤镜,Lightspeed提供学生安全警报通过 光速警报, 哪一个 当学生面临自我伤害或对他人暴力的风险时,会提供实时通知。 

[Lightspeed Alert™]对于这个地区是一个巨大的祝福。这与我们先前的过滤器无关。您将不得不寻找有害搜索的特定类型。

网络数据和安全协调员Greg Hogan

对于比布县 光速警报 已成为其学生安全行动计划中防止自残,自杀和学校暴力的重要组成部分。 Hogan的价值即刻体现 已通知 威胁,因此他可以快速促进管理员的干预。 

 “关键在于快速行动。时间就是生命。从这个意义上讲,您不想延迟报告威胁, ”霍根说。 “我们实际上已经开发了一种全新的协议程序,因为我们拥有 能力。用 光速警报,我收到警报,将警报信息发送给该学校的校长和辅导员,然后我立即通过电话跟进该电子邮件,并说:“嘿,我正在进行交接。您的收件箱中有一封电子邮件,请确认已收到。”然后他们执行。” 

Microsoft Teams Integration将安全警报提高到了一个新水平

的 Lightspeed 系统篇 与Microsoft Teams集成后,官员可以监视Teams聊天中的活动,并为出现危机迹象的学生提供实时警报。 

 自推出以来, 光速警报 报告了超过84,000例可能涉及学生行为的案例 全世界,帮助学校员工提供及时的干预。与Microsoft Teams的协作及其聊天功能增强了该平台的有效性。 

 “大多数 我们的 标记为安全问题的事件已通过[Microsoft]团队聊天记录进行,” Hogan说。 “在第一周的第一时间,我们已经看到需要解决的活动。它甚至使我们能够了解我们不知道并未经授权的聊天室。实施新政策后,很多聊天室都没有关闭 光速警报 允许我们通过触发警报来找到这些聊天室。我们已经能够利用这一不可预见的优势。” 

“孩子们不再只是Google。他们聊天,然后发短信。”霍根说。 “ [团队]通常是进行对话的地方,这是您将最了解潜在问题的地方。” 

 Ť他 的能力 Lightspeed 警报 监视 微软团队 聊天室 拥有 把比伯县放进去 保护学生的最佳位置。 Hogan相信他们最深入 可用功能 在市场上。   

[具有此功能]非常有价值。我的意思是,它位于内容过滤需求的前三位。我不知道有任何其他产品可以监视[Microsoft]团队聊天。这是远程学习环境的必备条件。没有任何借口没有适当的产品。

网络数据和安全协调员Greg Hogan
比伯县学区徽标

信息

位置:

佐治亚州

客户以来:

2020

学生们:

22,000

成绩:

PreK-12

职员:

4,000

使用的设备:

iPad,Windows笔记本电脑

解决方案:

Lightspeed Filter™,Lightspeed Alert™

分享

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin

进一步阅读

Already a Lightspeed Systems customer or partner?
Contact Sales:
|

Bibb County Public Schools proactively identify students at risk for self-harm or violence using Lightspeed Systems® and Microsoft Teams®

With so many options for online activity—social media, online docs, email, YouTube, apps, browsers, search engines, and more—school districts face an enormous challenge in achieving the visibility needed to ensure student safety.  

Serving 22,000 students and 4,000 staff members, Bibb County Public Schools understands the need for a comprehensive approach to not only filtering inappropriate content from online activity, but also alerting administrators of potential threats to student safety and mental health warning signsThat is why they chose Lightspeed Systems (Lightspeed), a Microsoft partner, to help bolster their incident response and intervention strategy.   

During the onset of the COVID-19 crisis, Bibb County had to reimagine its approach to filtering. Before the pandemic, they provided devices to most students and allowed for BYOD; however, their transition to a hybrid at-home and on-campus school environment in response to COVID-19 accelerated the need to send devices home with every student. But the more their needs grew, the more their existing filtering solution fell short.   

In a hybrid learning model, it was required for Bibb County to filter devices off-campus. They needed a solution that could support their remote devices and address the unique challenges of K-12 education 

With distance learning, you have to be able to filter off-network or you can't send devices home. We needed a content filter that was focused on K-12 and the needs of K-12 because they're very, very different from a Fortune 500 company."

Greg Hogan, Network Data and Security Coordinator

Easy Deployment of Cloud-based Filtering

Once Bibb County decided to implement Lightspeed Filter™, an industry leading web filtering solution, implementation did not take long.  

To be able to bring in a content filter and have it up and running in just a couple of hours is pretty incredible. With Lightspeed, you can deploy the software and spin up a dashboard in just a couple hours. That speaks volumes for how good the product is designed.

Greg Hogan, Network Data and Security Coordinator

Although initially hesitant to give up the control that comes with managing hardware to move to a completely cloud-based solution, Hogan doesn’t regret putting his trust in Lightspeed to filter his district’s devices both on and off network. 

“What is so awesome about this product is the agent just works,” says Hogan. I mean you install it, and it works. Whereas with [other filtering solutions] I’ve dealt with in the past, there’s so much tweaking that must be done to get it to work. [I appreciate] the simplification of having something that you can deploy, and you know it is going to work. You don’t have to worry about it.”  

Streamlined Reporting

Lightspeed solutions not only allow Hogan to make sure that his students are safe – they also make time consuming tasks like generating and sharing reports easier to manage. With a customizable reporting dashboard, drill-down capabilities, and a user-friendly interface, Hogan can easily identify harmful content, escalate important issues quickly, and return his focus to other priorities.   

“Our previous solution was lacking on the reporting side and you could get lost in the dashboard, whereas Lightspeed was very good about simplifying the reporting process and simplifying everything about the content filter management,” says Hogan.  

 Of the many reports Lightspeed provides, Hogan relies on the flagged content reports the mostWith past filtering solutions, the reporting process used to be very manual for Hogan. It required him to build an email template where he could plug in screenshots of the flagged activity. With Lightspeed Filter, all he does is send a link to the administrators so they can follow up on the incident.   

 “My reporting time has been cut drastically,” adds Hogan. “It has made my job tremendously easier in that it has cut down on a lot of the legwork I have to do to get information out to those that need it. I’m handling [content filtering] for the entire district, which speaks volumes for the product. I can manage thousands of students and staff easily and still do all of the other things I need to do.” 

Self-harm, Suicide, and School Violence Prevention with Lightspeed Alert™

When it comes to student safety, effective communication among school staff and administrators is essential. Districts must be prepared to get the right information to the right people at the right time.  

 In addition to Lightspeed Filter, Lightspeed offers student safety alertthrough Lightspeed Alert, which provides real-time notifications when students are at risk of self-harm or violence towards others.  

[Lightspeed Alert™] has been a huge blessing for this district. That's not something we had with our previous filter. You would have to go looking for the specific types of harmful searches.

Greg Hogan, Network Data and Security Coordinator

For Bibb County, Lightspeed Alert has become a critical component in their student safety action plans to prevent self-harm, suicide, and school violence. Hogan values being instantly notified of threats so he can quickly facilitate intervention from administrators.   

 “The key is to move fast. Time is of the essence. In that sense, you don’t want to delay getting threats reported, ” says Hogan. “We’ve actually developed a whole new protocol procedure because we have this capability. With Lightspeed Alert, I get the alert, I send the alert information to the principal and the counselors of that school, and then I follow up on that email immediately with a phone call to say, ‘Hey, I’m doing a handoff. You have an email in your inbox, please verify you received it.’ Then they execute.”  

Microsoft Teams Integration Took Safety Alerting to the Next Level 

The Lightspeed Systems integration with Microsoft Teams allows officials to monitor activity within Teams chat and provides real-time alerts of students exhibiting signs of crisis. 

 Since its launch, Lightspeed Alert has reported over 84,000 cases of potentially concerning student behavior worldwide, helping school staff provide timely intervention. The collaboration with Microsoft Teams and its chat capabilities amplifies the effectiveness of the platform.  

 “Most of our flagged safety issues have been through the [Microsoft] Teams chat logs,” says Hogan. “Immediately during the first week, we were already seeing activity that needed to be addressed. It was even giving us insight into chatrooms that we didn’t know about and were not authorized. A lot of chat rooms didn’t get closed after we implemented new policies and Lightspeed Alert allowed us to find these chatrooms by triggering an alert. It was an unforeseen advantage we’ve been able to utilize to our benefit.” 

“Kids don’t just Google anymore. They chat and they text,” says Hogan. “[Teams] is usually where the conversations take place and that’s where you’re going to see the most insight into a potential issue.” 

 The ability of Lightspeed Alert to monitor Microsoft Teams chat has put Bibb County in the best position to protect their students. Hogan is confident they have the most in-depth capabilities available in the market.   

[Having this capability] has been extremely valuable. I mean, it's up there in the top three of content filtering needs. I don't know of any other product that monitors [Microsoft] Teams chats. It’s a must-have for a remote learning environment. There's no excuse not to have a product like this in place.

Greg Hogan, Network Data and Security Coordinator
Bibb County School District logo

Info

Location:

Georgia

Customer Since:

2020

Students:

22,000

Grades:

PreK-12

Staff Members:

4,000

Devices Used:

iPads, Windows Laptops

Solutions:

Lightspeed Filter™, Lightspeed Alert™

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
man sitting at desk on laptop looking at Lightspeed Filter dashboard

View Our Pricing

Looking for pricing information for our solutions? Let us know about your district’s requirements and we’ll be happy to build a quote based on your unique situation.

Before you go...

Help us serve you better.