هل أنت بالفعل عميل أو شريك لشركة Lightspeed Systems؟
مبيعات الاتصال:
|

المدارس الكاثوليكية Broken Bay تحصل على إدارة للأجهزة المحمولة قابلة للتخصيص عبر الأبرشية

تتكون أبرشية بروكن باي الكاثوليكية من 44 مدرسة تمتد من ويلوبي على الساحل الشمالي السفلي لسيدني إلى بحيرة مونمورا على الساحل الأوسط. لأكثر من عشر سنوات ، استخدمت الأبرشية مزيجًا من BYOD والأجهزة المملوكة للمدرسة لتعزيز التعلم ، وقررت كل مدرسة أفضل تقنية تناسبها.

كولين فيلبس هو مسؤول مشاريع ICLT في الأبرشية ويتحمل مسؤولية إدارة الأجهزة في كل مدرسة والتأكد من أن لديهم التطبيقات والإعدادات والسياسات الصحيحة لتكون مناسبة للتعلم. بعد توليه المنصب ، اكتشف أن خططًا لزيادة عدد الأجهزة عبر الأبرشية ستكون قريبة من المستحيل مع النظام الذي ورثه.

يتذكر كولين قائلاً: "قبل وصولي ، كان ما يحدث هو أن موظفًا محليًا مثل أمين مكتبة أو مدرس الفصل سوف يستخدم Apple Configurator لتثبيت التطبيقات ، وما إلى ذلك ، على الأجهزة". قد يعني هذا أنه يجب جمع الأجهزة وتحديثها فعليًا لإجراء أي تغييرات.

كان iPad هو الأجهزة الأساسية التي تم تقديمها إلى الأبرشية ، وواصلت غالبية المدارس طرح أجهزة iOS المشتراة حديثًا. ومع ذلك ، جربت بعض المدارس طرقًا مختلفة لنشرها.

يوضح كولن: "إنه يعمل على أساس كل مدرسة على حدة". "تقرر المدرسة الفردية طريقة عملها فيما يتعلق بالتكنولوجيا. ستحتوي بعض المدارس أيضًا على أجهزة Windows بالإضافة إلى أجهزة Chromebook ".

Lightspeed Mobile Device Management ™ للإنقاذ

كان كولين يعلم أنه من أجل زيادة عدد الأجهزة بنجاح ، فإنه سيحتاج إلى حل إدارة جهاز محمول قابل للتطوير وقابل للتخصيص يعمل عبر الأجهزة وأنظمة التشغيل المختلفة. نظر في الخيارات المختلفة لكنه كان على علم بأن سلفه قد قام بالفعل بتثبيت Lightspeed Mobile Device Management ™ (MDM) لأجهزة BYOD عبر المدارس. بعد اختبار الإمكانات الأخرى لـ Lightspeed MDM ، أدرك أنه كان بالضبط الحل الذي يحتاجون إليه وبدأ العمل مع المدارس في عملية التسجيل.

يخبرنا كولن: "لقد عقدنا اجتماعًا سابقًا للمشروع مع المدارس". "لقد تعلمنا التطبيقات التي قاموا بتثبيتها ، وكيف تم إعداد أجهزتهم ، وما إذا تم إعدادها بشكل فريد لفصل دراسي أو عام أو مرحلة ما ، وما إذا كانوا جميعًا بحاجة إلى نفس التطبيقات. لقد جمعنا كل هذه المعلومات ، وقمنا بمسح الأجهزة ، وقمنا بتسجيلها في Lightspeed MDM ".

كانت إحدى الفوائد الرئيسية لاختيار Lightspeed MDM هي الطبيعة القائمة على السحابة للحل بالإضافة إلى التكامل مع برنامج تسجيل الأجهزة من Apple ، والذي يسمح بتسجيل كميات كبيرة من الأجهزة عن بُعد من أي مكان.

"أن تكون قائمًا على السحابة أمر بالغ الأهمية بالنسبة لنا. هذا يعني أنه لا توجد بنية تحتية أو أي شيء يتعين علينا صيانته "يشرح كولين. "سأعطيك مثالاً: في عام 2018 ، استأجرنا 3022 جهاز iPad. بدون أن تكون الخدمة مستندة إلى السحابة وبدون نجاحي في إقناع رئيس قسم المعلومات بالسماح لي بإعداد نظام DEP من Apple ، لم نكن لنتمكن من نشرها في المدارس خلال 13 يومًا ".

أن تكون قائمًا على السحابة أمر بالغ الأهمية بالنسبة لنا. هذا يعني أنه لا توجد بنية تحتية أو أي شيء يتعين علينا صيانته.

كولين فيلبس ، مسؤول مشاريع ICLT

توفير الوقت مع مكتبة تطبيقات قابلة للتخصيص

عامل رئيسي آخر في Lightspeed MDM كولين كان موضع تقدير هو الطبيعة الهرمية للنظام التي تسمح له بالتحكم الكامل في تطبيقات وأذونات المستخدمين المختلفة ويمنح كل مدرسة في الأبرشية قدرًا كبيرًا من التحكم الذي يحتاجونه على أجهزتهم الخاصة.

يخبرنا كولن: "نحن ندير الأجهزة على أساس كل مدرسة على حدة". "لدينا بعض المدارس حيث تحتوي جميع أجهزتها على نفس التطبيقات والسياسات ويتم التعامل معها كمجموعة واحدة. في حين أن لدينا مدارس أخرى ستقوم بتقسيمها إلى مستوى عام ولدينا تطبيقات مختلفة مثبتة لمختلف الفئات العمرية ".

يعني هذا التحكم القابل للتخصيص أن المدارس ليست عالقة بالسياسات والتطبيقات الشاملة التي يمكن أن تقيد التعلم للطلاب من مختلف الأعمار والقدرات الذين قد يحتاجون إلى موارد محددة والوصول. أصبح لدى مديري المدارس الآن رأي أكبر في التطبيقات المفيدة لمدارسهم ولم يعد يطلب المدرسون تطبيقات زيادة في عبء العمل لأنفسهم.

يتذكر كولن قائلاً: "عندما بدأت ، أُبلغت أن الموظفين خلال العطلات المدرسية كانوا يقضون عمومًا ما بين يومين إلى أربعة أيام من وقتهم في تثبيت التطبيقات فعليًا". "إذا كانت المدرسة تريد تطبيقًا الآن ، فإنها تقدم طلبًا إلينا في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات ، وعمومًا سيتم نشر هذا التطبيق في غضون 48 إلى 72 ساعة."

أجهزة مُدارة بالكامل بأقل جهد

لضمان استخدام الأجهزة فقط للأغراض التعليمية وحمايتها ، أرادت الأبرشية أيضًا التأكد من تعطيل أي ميزات تشتت الانتباه ، ولن يتمكن الطلاب من تنزيل أي تطبيقات غير مناسبة.

يوضح كولين: "جميع أجهزة الطلاب في Lightspeed MDM هي ما سأشير إليه على أنها مُدارة بالكامل". "إنهم مغلقون. لا يمكنهم تثبيت التطبيقات. لا يمكنهم حذف التطبيقات. هذا إعداد قياسي لجهاز مُدار بالكامل في بيئتنا ".

إذا كانت الأجهزة ستؤخذ إلى المنزل أو إذا أرادت المدرسة تغيير السياسات الخاصة باستراحة الغداء أو خارج ساعات العمل ، بالإضافة إلى القدرة على تخصيص السياسات للطلاب أو المجموعات الفردية ، فيمكنهم أيضًا تمكين السياسات المحددة بوقت باستخدام MDM.

يقول كولين: "أتذكر أن لدينا ظرفًا حيث كان علينا تخفيف القيود بعد المدرسة لبضع ساعات وقمنا فقط بتنفيذ سياسة محددة التوقيت".

تتمثل إحدى سلبيات السماح بنزع الأجهزة المملوكة للمدرسة من خارج الموقع في الاحتمال المؤسف لضياعها أو سرقتها. لحسن الحظ ، يمنحك Lightspeed MDM القدرة على استخدام الموقع الجغرافي لتعقب أي أجهزة مفقودة واكتساب أجهزة التحكم عن بعد الضرورية لضمان عدم إمكانية الوصول إليها.

"إذا فُقد أحد الأجهزة ، فقد أعددت مجموعة حيث تم تقييد قيود بشكل كبير جدًا. ما سأفعله هو أن أنقل جهاز iPad إلى تلك المجموعة. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، فإنه يجعل الجهاز غير قابل للاستخدام "، كما يقول كولين. "الكاميرا ، FaceTime ، الرسائل متوقفة. لا يمكنهم تثبيت التطبيقات أو حذفها ولا يمكنهم تسجيل الدخول. لا يمكنهم فعل الكثير بها. لقد تركتها هناك حتى تبلغ المدرسة عن مشكلة أو تحدد مكانها ".

كان كولين يعلم أن وجود مثل هذه المجموعة المتنوعة من الأجهزة في مدارس متعددة سيعني عبء عمل أكبر لفريقه ، لذا كان من الضروري العثور على MDM المناسب الذي يوفر الوقت والجهد الثمين. في حالة ظهور أي مشكلات فنية أثناء أي من عمليات النشر ، أو إذا احتاجوا إلى المشورة بشأن أفضل الإعدادات للمدارس الفردية ، فإن دعم Lightspeed Systems على مدار الساعة طوال أيام الأسبوع متاح دائمًا. "لقد حصلنا على الدعم الأكثر تميزًا من Lightspeed الذي يجب أن أضعه في أفضل خدمتين أو ثلاث خدمات دعم طوال حياتي المهنية في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات ، والتي تزيد عن 30 عامًا." يعلن كولين.

تحقيق الرؤية اللازمة للنجاح

منذ تثبيت Lightspeed MDM عبر الأبرشية بأكملها ، حصلت كل مدرسة على مدخلات أكبر في تطبيقاتها وإعداداتها. يتمتع فريق التكنولوجيا والمعلمين بمزيد من الوقت للتركيز على الجوانب المهمة الأخرى لدورهم ، وتثق الأبرشية تمامًا في قابلية تطوير الحل للمضي قدمًا بغض النظر عن أنظمة التشغيل المستخدمة.

"سنضيع بدون MDM بدلاً من إدارتها بشكل منفصل. وقت المعلمين ثمين. يقول كولين: "إنهم بحاجة إلى التركيز على التدريس". "يتيح لنا Lightspeed MDM إدارة الأجهزة والإبلاغ عنها مركزيًا والتعرف على ما تم تثبيته عليها ، سواء كان إصدار البرنامج أو التطبيقات. يتيح لنا خدمتك كعميل ، لنقدم لك ما تحتاجه في الفصل الدراسي. لا يمكنك إدارة شيء ما إلا إذا قمت بقياسه ، ولديك رؤية عنه. هذا بالنسبة لي هو عدد أولي ".

يتيح لنا Lightspeed MDM إدارة الأجهزة والإبلاغ عنها مركزيًا والاطلاع على ما تم تثبيته عليها ، سواء كان إصدار البرنامج أو التطبيقات. يتيح لنا خدمتك كعميل ، لنقدم لك ما تحتاجه في الفصل الدراسي.

كولين فيلبس ، مسؤول مشاريع ICLT

معلومات

موقعك:

أستراليا

الزبون منذ:

2013

الطلاب:

17,000

الفئة العمرية:

روضة أطفال الصف الثاني عشر

الأجهزة المستخدمة:

iPad و Chromebooks و Windows Laptops

مشاركه فى

شارك على facebook
شارك على twitter
شارك على linkedin

Already a Lightspeed Systems customer or partner?
Contact Sales:
|

Catholic Schools Broken Bay Get Customisable Mobile Device Management Across the Diocese

Catholic Diocese of Broken Bay consists of 44 schools stretching from Willoughby on Sydney’s lower north shore to Lake Munmorah on the Central Coast. For over ten years, the diocese has used a mix of BYOD and school-owned devices to enhance learning, and each school decided what technology fit best for them.

Colin Phelps is the ICLT Projects Officer at the diocese and has the responsibility of managing the devices across every school and ensuring they have the correct apps, settings and policies to be suitable for learning. After stepping into the role, he discovered plans to increase the number of devices across the diocese was going to be close to impossible with the system he inherited.

“Prior to my arrival, what was happening was a local member of staff such as a librarian or a classroom teacher would use Apple Configurator to install apps, etcetera, on the devices,” Colin recalls. This would mean that the devices would have to be physically collected and updated for any changes to be made.

iPad were the primary devices introduced to the diocese, and the majority of schools continued to roll out newly purchased iOS devices. Some schools, however, tried different approaches to their deployments.

“It works on a school-by-school basis” Colin explains. “The individual school decides their mode of operation in relation to the technology. Some schools will also have Windows devices as well as Chromebooks.”

Lightspeed Mobile Device Management™ to the rescue

Colin knew that to successfully increase the number of devices they would need a scalable and customisable mobile device management solution that would work across different devices and operating systems. He looked at various options but was aware his predecessor had already installed Lightspeed Mobile Device Management™ (MDM) for the BYOD devices across the schools. After testing the other capabilities of Lightspeed MDM he realised it was exactly the solution they needed and began working with the schools on the enrolment process.

“We held a pre-project meeting with the schools,” Colin tells us. “We learnt what apps they had installed, how their devices were set up, if they were set up uniquely for a class, year, or stage, and if they all needed the same apps. We gathered all that information, wiped the devices, and enrolled them into Lightspeed MDM.”

One of the main benefits of choosing Lightspeed MDM was the cloud-based nature of the solution as well as the integration with Apple’s Device Enrollment Program, which allows large quantities of devices to be enrolled remotely from any location.

“Being cloud-based is critical to us. It means that there’s no infrastructure or anything we have to maintain” Colin explains. “I’ll give you an example: In 2018, we leased 3,022 iPads. Without the service being cloud-based and without my success in convincing the CIO to allow me to set up Apple’s DEP system, we would not have been able to deploy those to the schools in 13 days.”

Being cloud-based is critical to us. It means that there's no infrastructure or anything we have to maintain.

Colin Phelps, ICLT Projects Officer

Saving time with a customisable app library

Another key factor of Lightspeed MDM Colin appreciated was the hierarchical nature of the system which allows him to have full control of different user’s apps and permissions and gives each school in the diocese as much control as they need over their own devices.

“We manage the devices on a school-by-school basis,” Colin tells us. “We have some schools where all their devices have the same apps and policies and are treated as one group. Whereas we’ve got other schools that will break it down to a year level and have different apps installed for different age groups.”

This customisable control means that schools aren’t stuck with blanket policies and apps which could restrict learning for students of different ages and abilities who might need specific resources and access. School admins now have more of a say over what apps are beneficial for their schools and teachers requesting apps no longer means an increase in workload for themselves.

“When I started, it was indicated to me that staff during school holidays were generally spending somewhere between two to four days of their own time physically installing apps” Colin recalls. “If a school wants an application now, they put in a request to us in IT, and generally they will have that app deployed within 48 to 72 hours.”

Fully managed devices with minimal effort

To ensure devices are just being used for educational purposes and are safeguarded, the diocese also wanted to ensure that any distracting features were disabled, and students wouldn’t be able to download any inappropriate apps.

“All of the student devices in Lightspeed MDM are what I will refer to as fully managed,” Colin explains. “They’re locked down. They can’t install apps. They can’t delete apps. That is a standard setting for a fully managed device in our environment.”

If the devices were to be taken home or a school wanted to change the policies for a lunch break or out of hours, as well as being able to customise policies for individual students or groups, they are also able to enable timed policies with MDM.

“I remember we had a circumstance where we had to relax a restriction after school for a couple of hours and we just ran a timed policy,” Colin says.

One of the downsides of allowing school-owned devices to be taken off-site is the unfortunate likelihood of them being misplaced or stolen. Fortunately, Lightspeed MDM gives the ability to use geolocation to track down any lost devices and gain the necessary remote controls to ensure that they’re inaccessible.

“If a device goes missing, I’ve set up a group where I’ve got restrictions locked down very heavily. What I’d do is I’ll move the iPad into that group. For the most part, it makes the device unusable,” Colin says. “The camera, FaceTime, messaging is turned off. They can’t install or delete apps and they can’t log in. They can’t do very much with it. I just let it sit there until the school reports A problem or locates it.”

Colin knew that having such a wide variety of devices in multiple schools would mean a greater workload for his team, so finding the right MDM that would save precious time and effort was essential. If any technical issues were to arise during any of the deployments, or they needed advice on the best setups for individual schools, Lightspeed Systems 24/7 support is always on hand. “We got the most outstanding support from Lightspeed that I would have to put it in my top two or three support services from my entire IT career, which is well over 30 years.” Colin proclaims.

Achieving the visibility needed for success

Since installing Lightspeed MDM across the entire diocese, each school has had a greater input into their apps and settings. The tech team and teachers have more time to focus on other important aspects of their role and the diocese is fully confident in the scalability of the solution moving forward regardless of what operating systems is used.

“We would be lost without an MDM rather than managing them separately. Teachers’ time is precious. They need to be focused on teaching,” Colin says. “Lightspeed MDM allows us to centrally manage and report on the devices and be aware of what’s installed on them, whether it’d be the software version or applications. It allows us to serve you as a customer, to give you what you need in the classroom. You can’t manage something unless you measure it, and you have visibility on it. That for me is prime.”

Lightspeed MDM allows us to centrally manage and report on the devices and be aware of what's installed on them, whether it'd be the software version or applications. It allows us to serve you as a customer, to give you what you need in the classroom.

Colin Phelps, ICLT Projects Officer

Info

Location:

Australia

Customer Since:

2013

Students:

17,000

Age range:

Kindergarten-Year 12

Devices Used:

iPad, Chromebooks, Windows Laptops

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Before you go...

Help us serve you better.