已经是Lightspeed Systems客户或合作伙伴?
联系销售:
|

天主教学校Broken Bay在整个主教管区获得可定制的移动设备管理

破碎湾天主教教区由44所学校组成,从悉尼北岸的威洛比(Willoughby)延伸到中央海岸的蒙莫拉湖(Lake Munmorah)。十多年来,该教区一直使用BYOD和学校拥有的设备来增强学习效果,每个学校都决定哪种技术最适合他们。

科林·菲尔普斯(Colin Phelps)是该教区的ICLT项目官员,负责管理每所学校的设备,并确保它们具有适合学习的正确应用程序,设置和政策。担任该职位后,他发现计划增加他继承的教区的设备数量几乎是不可能的。

“在我到来之前,发生的事情是本地工作人员(例如图书馆员或课堂老师)将使用Apple Configurator在设备上安装应用程序等,” Colin回忆道。这意味着必须对设备进行物理收集和更新才能进行任何更改。

iPad是引入教区的主要设备,大多数学校继续推出新购买的iOS设备。但是,有些学校尝试了不同的部署方法。

“它在逐所学校的基础上发挥作用”,科林解释道。 “各个学校根据技术来决定他们的运营方式。一些学校还将配备Windows设备和Chromebook。”

Lightspeed移动设备管理™助您一臂之力

Colin知道,要成功增加设备数量,他们需要可扩展且可自定义的移动设备管理解决方案,该解决方案可在不同的设备和操作系统上运行。他研究了各种选择,但知道他的前任已经为整个学校的BYOD设备安装了Lightspeed移动设备管理™(MDM)。在测试了Lightspeed MDM的其他功能之后,他意识到这正是他们所需的解决方案,并开始与学校合作进行注册流程。

“我们与学校举行了项目前会议,”科林告诉我们。 “我们了解了他们安装了哪些应用程序,如何设置他们的设备,是否为某个班级,年份或舞台设置了唯一的应用程序,以及它们是否都需要相同的应用程序。我们收集了所有这些信息,擦除了设备,并将它们注册到Lightspeed MDM中。”

选择Lightspeed MDM的主要好处之一是该解决方案基于云的性质以及与Apple的设备注册计划的集成,该计划允许从任何位置远程注册大量设备。

“基于云对我们至关重要。这意味着没有基础设施或我们需要维护的任何东西。” Colin解释道。 “我举一个例子:在2018年,我们租赁了3,022台iPad。如果没有基于云的服务,也没有成功说服CIO允许我建立Apple的DEP系统,我们将无法在13天之内将其部署到学校。”

基于云对我们至关重要。这意味着没有任何基础设施或我们需要维护的任何东西。

ICLT项目官员Colin Phelps

通过可自定义的应用程序库节省时间

Lightspeed MDM对Colin赞赏的另一个关键因素是系统的分层性质,这使他可以完全控制不同用户的应用程序和权限,并可以给教区中的每个学校尽可能多的控制权。

“我们在逐所学校的基础上管理设备,”科林告诉我们。 “我们有些学校的所有设备都具有相同的应用程序和策略,并被视为一组。而我们还有其他学校将其分解为一年级,并为不同年龄段的用户安装了不同的应用程序。”

这种可自定义的控件意味着学校不会受到一揽子政策和应用的束缚,这些政策和应用可能会限制可能需要特定资源和访问权限的不同年龄和能力的学生的学习。现在,学校管理员对于哪些应用程序对学校有利有更多的发言权,而教师请求应用程序不再意味着增加自己的工作量。

“我刚开始时,向我表明,学校放假期间的员工通常在自己的时间里花2至4天左右的时间来实际安装应用程序,” Colin回忆道。 “如果学校现在需要应用程序,他们会向我们提出IT要求,通常他们会在48到72小时内部署该应用程序。”

全面管理的设备,轻松完成

为了确保设备仅用于教育目的并受到保护,教区还希望确保禁用所有分散注意力的功能,并且学生将无法下载任何不适当的应用程序。

“我将Lightspeed MDM中的所有学生设备称为完全托管的设备,” Colin解释道。 “他们被封锁了。他们无法安装应用。他们无法删除应用。这是我们环境中完全托管设备的标准设置。”

如果要将设备带回家或学校想更改午餐时间或下班时间的政策,以及能够为个别学生或团体自定义政策,则他们还可以通过MDM启用定时政策。

“我记得我们曾经有过一种情况,放学后几个小时必须放松限制,而我们只是制定了定时政策,” Colin说。

允许将学校拥有的设备带到异地的弊端之一是不幸将它们放错了地方或被盗了。幸运的是,Lightspeed MDM可以使用地理位置来跟踪丢失的设备并获得必要的远程控制以确保它们不可访问。

“如果设备丢失,我会成立一个小组,严格限制所有限制。我要做的是将iPad移入该组。在大多数情况下,它使设备无法使用。” Colin说。 “相机FaceTime消息传递已关闭。他们无法安装或删除应用程序,也无法登录。他们不能做太多事情。我只是坐在那里,直到学校报告问题或找到问题。”

Colin知道,在多所学校拥有如此多的设备对他的团队来说意味着更大的工作量,因此找到能够节省宝贵时间和精力的正确MDM至关重要。如果在任何部署过程中出现任何技术问题,或者他们需要针对个别学校的最佳设置的建议,则始终提供Lightspeed Systems 24/7支持。 “我们从Lightspeed获得了最出色的支持,这将使我成为整个30多年的IT生涯中最重要的两三个支持服务之一。”柯林宣称。

实现成功所需的可见性

自从在整个教区安装Lightspeed MDM之后,每所学校对他们的应用程序和设置都有更多的投入。技术团队和教师有更多时间专注于其角色的其他重要方面,而教区对无论使用什么操作系统,都可以继续解决方案的可扩展性充满信心。

“如果没有MDM,而不是单独管理它们,我们将会迷失方向。老师的时间很宝贵。他们需要专注于教学。”科林说。 “ Lightspeed MDM使我们能够集中管理和报告设备,并知道它们上安装了什么,无论是软件版本还是应用程序。它使我们能够为您服务,作为客户,为您提供教室中的需求。除非进行衡量,并且您对此具有可见性,否则您将无法进行管理。对我而言,这是最重要的。”

Lightspeed MDM允许我们集中管理和报告设备,并知道它们上安装了什么,无论是软件版本还是应用程序。它使我们能够为您服务,作为客户,为您提供教室中的需求。

ICLT项目官员Colin Phelps

信息

位置:

澳大利亚

客户以来:

2013

学生们:

17,000

年龄范围:

幼儿园十二年级

使用的设备:

iPad,Chromebook,Windows笔记本电脑

分享

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin

Already a Lightspeed Systems customer or partner?
Contact Sales:
|

Catholic Schools Broken Bay Get Customisable Mobile Device Management Across the Diocese

Catholic Diocese of Broken Bay consists of 44 schools stretching from Willoughby on Sydney’s lower north shore to Lake Munmorah on the Central Coast. For over ten years, the diocese has used a mix of BYOD and school-owned devices to enhance learning, and each school decided what technology fit best for them.

Colin Phelps is the ICLT Projects Officer at the diocese and has the responsibility of managing the devices across every school and ensuring they have the correct apps, settings and policies to be suitable for learning. After stepping into the role, he discovered plans to increase the number of devices across the diocese was going to be close to impossible with the system he inherited.

“Prior to my arrival, what was happening was a local member of staff such as a librarian or a classroom teacher would use Apple Configurator to install apps, etcetera, on the devices,” Colin recalls. This would mean that the devices would have to be physically collected and updated for any changes to be made.

iPad were the primary devices introduced to the diocese, and the majority of schools continued to roll out newly purchased iOS devices. Some schools, however, tried different approaches to their deployments.

“It works on a school-by-school basis” Colin explains. “The individual school decides their mode of operation in relation to the technology. Some schools will also have Windows devices as well as Chromebooks.”

Lightspeed Mobile Device Management™ to the rescue

Colin knew that to successfully increase the number of devices they would need a scalable and customisable mobile device management solution that would work across different devices and operating systems. He looked at various options but was aware his predecessor had already installed Lightspeed Mobile Device Management™ (MDM) for the BYOD devices across the schools. After testing the other capabilities of Lightspeed MDM he realised it was exactly the solution they needed and began working with the schools on the enrolment process.

“We held a pre-project meeting with the schools,” Colin tells us. “We learnt what apps they had installed, how their devices were set up, if they were set up uniquely for a class, year, or stage, and if they all needed the same apps. We gathered all that information, wiped the devices, and enrolled them into Lightspeed MDM.”

One of the main benefits of choosing Lightspeed MDM was the cloud-based nature of the solution as well as the integration with Apple’s Device Enrollment Program, which allows large quantities of devices to be enrolled remotely from any location.

“Being cloud-based is critical to us. It means that there’s no infrastructure or anything we have to maintain” Colin explains. “I’ll give you an example: In 2018, we leased 3,022 iPads. Without the service being cloud-based and without my success in convincing the CIO to allow me to set up Apple’s DEP system, we would not have been able to deploy those to the schools in 13 days.”

Being cloud-based is critical to us. It means that there's no infrastructure or anything we have to maintain.

Colin Phelps, ICLT Projects Officer

Saving time with a customisable app library

Another key factor of Lightspeed MDM Colin appreciated was the hierarchical nature of the system which allows him to have full control of different user’s apps and permissions and gives each school in the diocese as much control as they need over their own devices.

“We manage the devices on a school-by-school basis,” Colin tells us. “We have some schools where all their devices have the same apps and policies and are treated as one group. Whereas we’ve got other schools that will break it down to a year level and have different apps installed for different age groups.”

This customisable control means that schools aren’t stuck with blanket policies and apps which could restrict learning for students of different ages and abilities who might need specific resources and access. School admins now have more of a say over what apps are beneficial for their schools and teachers requesting apps no longer means an increase in workload for themselves.

“When I started, it was indicated to me that staff during school holidays were generally spending somewhere between two to four days of their own time physically installing apps” Colin recalls. “If a school wants an application now, they put in a request to us in IT, and generally they will have that app deployed within 48 to 72 hours.”

Fully managed devices with minimal effort

To ensure devices are just being used for educational purposes and are safeguarded, the diocese also wanted to ensure that any distracting features were disabled, and students wouldn’t be able to download any inappropriate apps.

“All of the student devices in Lightspeed MDM are what I will refer to as fully managed,” Colin explains. “They’re locked down. They can’t install apps. They can’t delete apps. That is a standard setting for a fully managed device in our environment.”

If the devices were to be taken home or a school wanted to change the policies for a lunch break or out of hours, as well as being able to customise policies for individual students or groups, they are also able to enable timed policies with MDM.

“I remember we had a circumstance where we had to relax a restriction after school for a couple of hours and we just ran a timed policy,” Colin says.

One of the downsides of allowing school-owned devices to be taken off-site is the unfortunate likelihood of them being misplaced or stolen. Fortunately, Lightspeed MDM gives the ability to use geolocation to track down any lost devices and gain the necessary remote controls to ensure that they’re inaccessible.

“If a device goes missing, I’ve set up a group where I’ve got restrictions locked down very heavily. What I’d do is I’ll move the iPad into that group. For the most part, it makes the device unusable,” Colin says. “The camera, FaceTime, messaging is turned off. They can’t install or delete apps and they can’t log in. They can’t do very much with it. I just let it sit there until the school reports A problem or locates it.”

Colin knew that having such a wide variety of devices in multiple schools would mean a greater workload for his team, so finding the right MDM that would save precious time and effort was essential. If any technical issues were to arise during any of the deployments, or they needed advice on the best setups for individual schools, Lightspeed Systems 24/7 support is always on hand. “We got the most outstanding support from Lightspeed that I would have to put it in my top two or three support services from my entire IT career, which is well over 30 years.” Colin proclaims.

Achieving the visibility needed for success

Since installing Lightspeed MDM across the entire diocese, each school has had a greater input into their apps and settings. The tech team and teachers have more time to focus on other important aspects of their role and the diocese is fully confident in the scalability of the solution moving forward regardless of what operating systems is used.

“We would be lost without an MDM rather than managing them separately. Teachers’ time is precious. They need to be focused on teaching,” Colin says. “Lightspeed MDM allows us to centrally manage and report on the devices and be aware of what’s installed on them, whether it’d be the software version or applications. It allows us to serve you as a customer, to give you what you need in the classroom. You can’t manage something unless you measure it, and you have visibility on it. That for me is prime.”

Lightspeed MDM allows us to centrally manage and report on the devices and be aware of what's installed on them, whether it'd be the software version or applications. It allows us to serve you as a customer, to give you what you need in the classroom.

Colin Phelps, ICLT Projects Officer

Info

Location:

Australia

Customer Since:

2013

Students:

17,000

Age range:

Kindergarten-Year 12

Devices Used:

iPad, Chromebooks, Windows Laptops

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Before you go...

Help us serve you better.