Cognita Schools 让教师可以查看和控制教室中的设备

挑战

认知学校 是一个多元化的学校集团,在四个地区的 90 所学校拥有 60,000 名学生。随着大流行加速 Cognita 在其英国站点的 1:1 部署,设备已牢牢嵌入课堂体验。 Cognita 的数字学习顾问 Donna Shah 知道他们需要帮助她的老师管理使用中的各种设备。 “技术已成为我们 Cognita 学校教学和教育系统的基础”,Shah 女士解释道。 “我们有超过 11,000 名学生使用 Windows、Google 和 iOS 设备的组合,我们需要能够支持我们现有系统中已有的一切的东西。”

Cognita 需要一个强大的解决方案,该解决方案可以针对他们新的面向设备的在线课堂进行定制,但其使用也足够直观,让教师能够在不中断课程的情况下快速适应。 “这就是 Lightspeed 课堂管理发挥作用的地方:它允许我们学校的教师管理和监控他们的设备,”Shah 女士说。 “另外,我可以在我的家庭办公室为教师提供支持,而高级领导团队无论身在何处都可以提供支持。”

Shah 女士和团队还需要一个可以为 Cognita 学校不同年龄的学生定制的管理工具。 “我们从 3 年级到 13 年级使用课堂管理,”Shah 女士说。 “你可以想象,一个十八岁的孩子和一个七岁的孩子的需求有很大的不同!”

这就是 Lightspeed 课堂管理发挥作用的地方:它允许我们学校的教师管理和监控他们的设备。

Donna Shah,Cognita Schools 数字学习顾问

解决方案

为了解决这些问题并充分利用他们的 1:1 计划,Cognita 决定将 Lightspeed 课堂管理推广到英国 40 所学校中的 27 所(其余 13 所将在今年晚些时候收到该解决方案),并在其他学校实施该解决方案横跨西班牙、瑞士和意大利。 

Cognita 选择了 Lightspeed 课堂管理,因为它使教师能够通过自己的设备监控学生的浏览行为,而无需亲自观看学生的屏幕。此功能对于帮助教师适应 Cognita 的新数字环境至关重要。 “Lightspeed 课堂管理的一个关键功能是全班视图,”Shah 女士说。 “在这里,教师可以同时查看所有屏幕或以列表视图的形式查看。当你不希望看到的东西时,也会出现一些见解:例如,人工智能会提醒老师注意正在完成任务的学生。” 

Cognita 也被课堂管理所吸引,因为在必要时,教师可以使用该解决方案关闭各个选项卡以让学生专注于任务。此外,Shah 女士和 Cognita 的老师很欣赏能够立即阻止所有学生浏览的能力。 “这无疑是课堂管理提供的强大工具之一:借助此解决方案,教师可以一次性锁定整个班级及其设备,从而吸引学生的注意力,”Shah 女士说。 

除了一次监控和管理整个班级的能力之外,Cognita 还被 Lightspeed 课堂管理所吸引,因为它使教师能够使用最近添加的小组工具对学生进行细分。 “群组是最强大的功能之一,”Shah 女士宣称。 “我喜欢团体的原因是它们充满活力。它们很容易重新排列和修改。然而,同样,其中的工具与整个班级的工具相同。” 

最后,Cognita 决定部署 Classroom Management,因为除了监控学生设备上的内容外,教师现在还可以广播自己或特定学生屏幕上的内容。此功能使演示工作和分享最佳实践变得容易。 “如果老师在教室里并且学生做了一些了不起的工作,”Shah 女士说,“老师可以使用课堂管理轻松地与所有人共享该学生的屏幕,而不必保存并发送它。 ” 

借助此解决方案,教师可以一次性锁定整个班级及其设备,从而吸引学生的注意力。

Donna Shah,Cognita Schools 数字学习顾问

区别

Lightspeed Classroom Management 帮助 Cognita 利用了他们的技术力量,同时减轻了 IT 团队的压力。例如,教师现在可以使用 Web 规则功能来控制互联网访问,而不是每次需要解锁网站时都联系 IT。 “我喜欢 Web 规则允许我们阻止或允许特定 URL 的事实,因此学生只能访问某些网站,”Shah 女士说。 

此外,Lightspeed 的可定制 Web 规则帮助 Cognita 改进了测试。 “因为我们使用 Microsoft Forms 等工具进行了大量在线测试,”Shah 女士解释说,“实际上,您可以深入研究并允许个别学生访问一个 Web URL,并关闭其余 Internet 的 Web 浏览。这彻底改变了我们使用测试的方式,因为我们现在知道学生只能访问经过批准的内容。”

当教育工作者必须进行干预以让学生参与正确的在线内容时,Lightspeed 课堂管理为教师提供了微妙的方法。 “我在家里的办公室上课,一边看着 Book Creator,我发现有点奇怪,”Shah 女士回忆道。 “我的一个学生不在正确的网站上。相反,他们正在寻找板球更新。在这种情况下,我不想在所有人面前羞辱学生,所以我只是关闭了课堂管理中的选项卡。学生显然意识到他们被抓到了,所以除此之外我们没有任何问题。”

教师还一直在利用群组功能与学生单独共享链接:如果教师想在课程中共享特定 URL,他们可以轻松地将链接发送给个人、整个班级或他们创建的特定群组。 “我们的一些班级可能会分配一名额外的成人与他们一起工作,因此通过群组,他们可以将链接直接推送给学生,”Shah 女士说。 “这些可能是支持文件,这些可能是他们可以做的事情来支撑他们的学习,这些可能是额外的资源:所有这些都可以谨慎地分发给那群学生,而不需要班上的其他人知道发生了什么。 ”

有了教室监控和教师控制,Cognita 还必须确保这些设备在教室外受到保护。他们发现 Lightspeed Filter™ 提供了符合 KCSIE 标准的设备安全要求,同时还与 Classroom Management 集成以节省部署和管理时间。 “将 Lightspeed 过滤器与课堂管理一起使用,学校可以查看任何不当行为,以及在单个仪表板上访问和搜索的任何内容,”Shah 女士说。 “这种对过滤和报告的访问对我们的 DSL 非常有用。它为学习者提供了深刻的洞察力,并帮助他们无论身在何处以及使用何种设备都能确保他们的安全。”

结果

由于这些成功,Lightspeed 的解决方案现在已成为 Cognita 的 1:1 计划和数字学习计划不可或缺的一部分。 Shah 女士正忙于在剩余的英国学校培训更多教师,并在使用解决方案后与教师联系,征求他们的反馈。 “我认为我收到的最喜欢的评论是:‘课堂管理让我能够继续做我最擅长的事情:教书。’我真的不认为你能说比这更好的了,”Shah 女士总结道。 “事实是,这些解决方案使教师能够教学,确保他们的学生在完成任务、参与和安全的知识。”

我认为我收到的最喜欢的评论是:“课堂管理让我能够继续做我最擅长的事情:教书。”

Donna Shah,Cognita Schools 数字学习顾问

信息

位置:

英国

客户以来:

2020

学生们:

60,000

年龄范围

3-18

使用的设备/操作系统:

Windows、Chromebook、iPad

分享

关于光速系统

Lightspeed Systems 总部位于英格兰埃塞克斯,是面向信托和学校的领先在线安全和有效性平台。 Lightspeed 是经过验证的学生安全和参与合作伙伴,它使用先进的 AI 来查看和分析网络上的学生活动。 Lightspeed 为全球 38 个国家和 28,000 所学校的超过 2000 万学生提供服务。

进一步阅读

桌面和移动设备上用于远程学习软件的屏幕截图

这是一个演示,在我们身上

还在做你的研究吗?
让我们帮忙!与我们的一位产品专家安排免费演示,以快速回答您的所有问题。

坐在笔记本电脑办公桌前的男人看着 Lightspeed 过滤器仪表板

欢迎回来!

正在寻找我们解决方案的定价信息?
让我们知道您所在地区的要求,我们很乐意为您提供定制报价。

Cognita Schools Give Teachers Visibility and Control of Devices in the Classroom

Challenge

Cognita Schools is a diverse group of schools with 60,000 students across 90 schools across four regions. As the pandemic accelerated Cognita’s 1:1 deployment across their UK sites, devices became firmly embedded in the classroom experience. Donna Shah, Cognita’s Digital Learning Adviser, knew they needed to help her teachers manage the diverse devices in use. “Technology has become fundamental to our teaching and learning and the education system across our Cognita schools,” explained Ms. Shah. “We have over 11,000 students using a combination of Windows, Google and iOS devices, and we needed something that worked in support of everything we already had in our existing systems.”

Cognita needed a robust solution that could be customised to their new device-oriented, online classrooms, but whose use was also intuitive enough for teachers to adapt quickly without disrupting their lessons. “That’s where Lightspeed Classroom Management came into play: it allows the teachers across our schools to manage and monitor their devices,” said Ms. Shah. “Plus, I can support teachers from my home office, while the senior leadership team can to the same regardless of where they are.”

Ms. Shah and the team also needed a management tool they could customise for the students of different ages in Cognita’s schools. “We use Classroom Management from year 3 to year 13,” Ms. Shah said. “As you can imagine, the needs of an eighteen-year-old differ greatly from those of a seven-year-old!”

That’s where Lightspeed Classroom Management came into play: it allows the teachers across our schools to manage and monitor their devices.

Donna Shah, Digital Learning Adviser, Cognita Schools

Solution

To address these concerns and make the most of their 1:1 initiative, Cognita decided to roll out Lightspeed Classroom Management to 27 of their 40 schools across the UK (the remaining 13 will receive the solution later this year) with additional schools implementing the solution across Spain, Switzerland and Italy. 

Cognita chose Lightspeed Classroom Management because it gives teachers the ability to monitor student’s browsing behaviour from their own devices—without having to be physically watching students’ screens. This feature was crucial in helping teachers adapt to Cognita’s new digital landscape. “One of the key features with Lightspeed Classroom Management is the whole class view,” said Ms. Shah. “It’s here that the teacher can either have a view of all screens at once or in a list view. There are also insights that appear when it’s something you’re not expecting to see: for instance, the AI will alert the teacher to students who are going off task.” 

Cognita was also drawn to Classroom Management because, when necessary, teachers can use the solution to close individual tabs to keep students on task. Further, Ms. Shah and Cognita’s teachers appreciate the power to stop all students browsing at once. “It’s certainly one of the powerful tools Classroom Management offers: with this solution, teachers can lock an entire class and their devices in one go so that they can get students’ attention,” said Ms. Shah. 

In addition to the power to monitor and manage the entire class at once, Cognita was drawn to Lightspeed Classroom Management because it grants teachers the ability to segment students using the recently added groups tool. “Groups was one of the most powerful features,” declared Ms. Shah. “The reason I like groups is that they’re dynamic. They are easy to rearrange and amend. Yet, equally, the tools that sit within them are the same as you have for the whole class.” 

Finally, Cognita decided to deploy Classroom Management because, in addition to monitoring what’s on student devices, teachers would now be able to broadcast what’s on their own or on a particular student’s screen. This feature makes it easy to demonstrate work and share best practices. “If a teacher is in in the classroom and a student has done some amazing work,” said Ms. Shah, “instead of having to save it and send it, a teacher can use Classroom Management to easily share that student’s screen with everyone.” 

With this solution, teachers can lock an entire class and their devices in one go so that they can get students’ attention.

Donna Shah, Digital Learning Adviser, Cognita Schools

THE DIFFERENCE

Lightspeed Classroom Management has helped Cognita leverage the power of their technology while simultaneously reducing the strain on the IT team. For instance, instead of contacting IT every time they need to unblock a website, teachers are now able to use the Web Rules feature to control internet access. “I love the fact that Web Rules allow us to either block or allow specific URLs so students can only go to certain websites,” said Ms. Shah. 

Further, Lightspeed’s customisable Web Rules have helped Cognita improve its testing. “Because we do a lot of online testing using tools like Microsoft Forms,” Ms. Shah explained, “you can actually drill down and allow an individual student access to one web URL and turn off web browsing for the rest of the internet. That has revolutionised how we use testing because we are now secure in the knowledge that students are only accessing approved content.”

And when educators must intervene to keep students engaged with the right online content, Lightspeed Classroom Management gives teachers subtle ways of doing so. “I was teaching a lesson from my home office while looking at Book Creator and I noticed a little oddity,” recalled Ms. Shah. “One of my students wasn’t on the correct website. Instead, they were looking for cricket updates. In this instance, I didn’t want to shame the student in front of everybody, so instead I just closed the tab within Classroom Management. The student obviously realised that they’d been caught out, so we didn’t have any issues beyond that.”

Teachers have also been utilising the Groups feature to discretely share links with students: if teachers want to share a specific URL during a lesson, they can easily send the link to individuals, the whole class or to specific groups they’ve created. “Some of our classes may have an additional adult assigned to work with them, and so with Groups they can then push out links directly to students,” said Ms. Shah. “These may be support documents, these may be things that they can do to scaffold their learning, these may be additional resources: all can be given out discreetly to that group of students without the rest of the class having to know what’s going on.”

With their classroom monitoring and teacher controls in place, Cognita also had to ensure the devices were safeguarded outside of the classroom. They discovered that Lightspeed Filter™ provided the KCSIE compliant device safety required, while also integrating with Classroom Management to save deployment and management time. “Using Lightspeed Filter alongside Classroom Management allows the schools to see any inappropriate behaviour, any content that’s being accessed and searched on a single dashboard,” said Ms. Shah. “This access to the filtering and reporting is very useful for our DSLs. It gives great insight into learners and helps keep them safe wherever they are and whichever device they use.”

RESULTS

As a result of these successes, Lightspeed’s solutions are now integral to Cognita’s 1:1 initiatives and digital learning plans. Ms. Shah is busy training more teachers across the remaining UK schools and has reached out to teachers for their feedback after using the solutions. “I think my favourite comment that I received is this: ‘Classroom management allows me to get on with doing what I do best: teach.’ I don’t really think you can say anything better than that,” concluded Ms. Shah. “The fact is these solutions empower teachers to teach, secure in the knowledge that their students are on task, engaged, and safe.”

I think my favourite comment that I received is this: ‘Classroom management allows me to get on with doing what I do best: teach.’

Donna Shah, Digital Learning Adviser, Cognita Schools
Cognita logo

Info

Location:

United Kingdom

Customer Since:

2020

Students:

60,000

Age Range

3-18

Devices/OS Used:

Windows, Chromebooks, iPad

Share On

About Lightspeed Systems

Lightspeed Systems, based in Essex, England, is a leading online safety and effectiveness platform for trusts and schools. A proven partner for student safety and engagement, Lightspeed uses advanced AI to view and analyse student activity across the web. Lightspeed serves over 20 million students in 38 countries and 28,000 schools globally.

You May Also Like

screenshots on desktop and mobile devices for distance learning software

Here's a demo, on us

Still doing your research?
Let us help! Schedule a free demo with one of our product experts to get all of your questions answered quickly.

man sitting at desk on laptop looking at Lightspeed Filter dashboard

Welcome back!

Looking for pricing information for our solutions?
Let us know about your district’s requirements and we’ll be happy to build a custom quote.

Reimagine the inspired and interactive classroom for remote, hybrid, and in-person learning. Lightspeed Classroom Management™ gives teachers real-time visibility and control of their students’ digital workspaces and online activity.

  • Ensure all students interact with only the right online curriculum — precisely when they’re supposed to use it.
  • Push out vetted curriculum links to all students at the same time.
  • Block inappropriate or distracting web sites and apps.

Ensure scalable & efficient learning device management. The Lightspeed Mobile Device Management™ system ensures safe and secure management of student learning resources with real-time visibility and reporting essential for effective distance learning.

  • A centralized, cloud-based solution for infinitely scalable device, application, and policy controls
  • Self-Service App Library, where teachers and students
    can access and install approved curriculum and learning tools
  • Remotely deploy, change, and revoke hundreds of policies and educational applications, while reducing typical downtime and costs

Prevent suicides, cyberbullying, and schoolviolence. Lightspeed Alert™ supports district administrators and selected personnel with advanced AI to detect and report potential threats before it’s too late.

  • Human review
  • Real-time alerts that flag signs of a potential threat
  • Intervene quickly before an incident occurs.
  • Activity logs provide visibility into online activity before and after a flagged event

Protect students from harmful online content. Lightspeed Filter™ is the best-in-class solution that acts as a solid barrier to inappropriate or illicit online content to ensure students’ online safety 24/7.

  • Powered by the most comprehensive database in the industry built through 20 years of web indexing and machine learning.
  • Ensure CIPA compliance
  • Block millions of inappropriate, harmful, and unknown sites, images, and video including YouTube
  • Keep parents informed with the Lightspeed Parent Portal™

Gain complete visibility into students’ online learning. Lightspeed Analytics™ gives districts robust data on the effectiveness of any tools they implement so they can take a strategic approach to their technology stack and streamline reporting.

  • Track education technology adoption and usage trends, eliminate redundancy, and drive ROI
  • Monitor app and content consumption to facilitate early adoption and effective utilization
  • Assess risk with visibility into student data privacy and security compliance