Dallastown Area School District تقوم بالتبديل من iBoss إلى Lightspeed Filter ™ لتحسين التصفية وإعداد التقارير والوظائف

متى دائرة مدارس منطقة دالستاون قرر بدء برنامج 1: 1 ، كان لدى جون لينهارت ، مسؤول الأنظمة ، بعض المتطلبات البسيطة ، ولكن الحرجة: كانت الأجهزة بحاجة إلى أن تتم تصفيتها بشكل فعال خارج الحرم الجامعي تمامًا كما كانت في الحرم الجامعي ، وكان بحاجة إلى تقارير شاملة عن طلابه البحث على الإنترنت ، وتحتاج مواقع الويب إلى تصفيتها دون حظر المحتوى التعليمي. عندما اشترت Dallastown iBoss كمرشح 1: 1 ، أدرك Lenhart بسرعة أنه لا تعمل جميع المرشحات كما يتم تسويقها. لحسن الحظ ، تمكنت Dallastown من التحول إلى حل أكثر قوة وموثوقية: مرشح Lightspeed ™.

مرشح Lightspeed يحفظ الانتشار الكارثي

تخدم منطقة Dallastown Area School District 6،400 طالب و 734 موظفًا عبر بلدتين في ولاية بنسلفانيا. تتضمن مبادرتهم 1: 1 أكثر من 7500 جهاز ، وهي مزيج من أجهزة Chromebook وأجهزة الكمبيوتر المحمولة التي تعمل بنظام Windows ، مما يعني أن مرشح الويب الخاص بهم يحتاج إلى أن يكون حلاً متعدد أنظمة التشغيل مع تقارير قوية وفلتر قوي للهاتف المحمول.

في ذلك الوقت ، كان لدى Dallastown مرشح مضمن ، لكنه لم يستطع مواكبة الاحتياجات التكنولوجية للمنطقة. قال لينهارت: "لم يكن الأداء جيدًا". "كان تحميل التقارير بطيئًا ، وكان يتعين علينا الاتصال بالدعم في كل مرة نحتاج فيها إلى تقرير سريع ، ولم يكن قابلاً للتطوير بالنسبة إلى 1: 1 ، لذلك بدأنا في البحث في بعض الخيارات المستندة إلى السحابة."

في بحثهم عن مرشح يدعم برنامجهم 1: 1 ، عثر Dallastown على iBoss ، وهو مرشح منافس أصدر مؤخرًا خيارًا قائمًا على السحابة وادعى أنه يتعامل مع التقارير القوية والتصفية خارج الحرم الجامعي التي كانت Lenhart تبحث عنها. تم بيع Lenhart ، وأصبح iBoss هو حل التصفية لبرنامج Dallastown's 1: 1.

على الفور ، بدأت المنطقة تواجه مشكلات مع المرشح. "كان الأمر فظيعًا للغاية ، لم ينجح على الإطلاق ، كانت هناك مشاكل من البداية لم تختف أبدًا." يقول Lenhart.

بصرف النظر عن عدم القدرة على تقديم التقارير الموعودة ، بدأ عامل تصفية iBoss في حظر كل موقع ذهب إليه الطلاب تقريبًا. أدى ذلك إلى إحباط الأطفال والمدرسين والمسؤولين ، وأدى إلى قدر هائل من تذاكر الدعم لفريق تكنولوجيا المعلومات في المنطقة. يقول لينهارت: "سوف يمنع iBoss كل شيء ، سواء كان ذلك ضروريًا أم لا. "طلب وكيل iBoss مصادقة مستمرة ، وسيحصلون على نوافذ منبثقة طوال الوقت تقول" لا يمكن لـ iBoss المصادقة "مما يعني أنهم عالقون بدون الإنترنت." ويضيف: "في كثير من الأحيان ، يتم إغلاق متصفح الطالب ، ويفقدون عملهم. كان الأمر يثير حنقهم ".

يوجد في Dallastown 7 موظفين في قسم التكنولوجيا الخاص بهم ، وهو أكثر من معظم المناطق ، لكن الأيدي الإضافية على سطح السفينة لم تكن مفيدة كثيرًا عندما كان الفريق يتحدث باستمرار إلى الدعم. يلاحظ لينهارت "مع iBoss كنا نتعامل مع المشكلات كل يوم تقريبًا". "لم يكن لدينا أبدًا منتج وظيفي معهم ، وكنا دائمًا على الهاتف مع دعم لشيء ما وكان الأمر سيئًا في كل مكان."

بعد عدة أشهر من ذهاب وإياب ، وافق iBoss على إطلاق سراح Dallastown من عقدهم لمدة 3 سنوات. يقول لينهارت: "أردت فقط الخروج منه ، لذلك وافقوا على السماح لي بالدفع لمدة عام واحد على الرغم من التزامنا بثلاثة". "كنت أعرف Lightspeed Systems® كان هناك مرشح سحابي متاح في تلك المرحلة ، لذلك قلت جيدًا أنني سأذهب إلى Lightspeed ".

[iBoss] كان فظيعًا تمامًا ، لم ينجح على الإطلاق ، كانت هناك مشاكل من البداية لم تختف أبدًا.

جون لينهارت ، مدير الأنظمة

Lightspeed ينقذ اليوم

بمجرد نشر Dallastown مرشح Lightspeed، كان الإبحار سلسًا من هناك.

على الفور ، كان تنفيذ الفلتر أسهل مع Lightspeed مما كان عليه مع iBoss. يتذكر لينهارت: "كان تطبيق الفلتر سهلًا جدًا ، خاصة لأجهزة Chromebook". "كنا نعمل في أقل من 30 دقيقة من طرد الوكيل."

بعد التنفيذ ، فوجئت Lenhart بسرور بمدى سهولة إدارة الفلتر ومدى قوتها. يقول Lenhart: "بمجرد أن انتقلنا إلى Lightspeed Filter ، بدأنا في توفير ساعات أسبوعيًا ، كل أسبوع ، وكان الفرق واضحًا على الفور". "يمنع الفلتر المواقع إلا عند الضرورة ، وقد شهدنا بالتأكيد زيادة في أداء الطلاب منذ الانتقال إلى مرشح Lightspeed."

بمجرد الانتقال إلى مرشح Lightspeed ، بدأنا في توفير ساعات أسبوعيًا ، كل أسبوع ، وكان الفرق واضحًا على الفور.

جون لينهارت ، مدير الأنظمة

السماح بالحكم الذاتي

لم تكن التصفية الدقيقة هي المجال الوحيد الذي يوجد فيه مرشح Lightspeed تفوقت على iBoss - كانت التقارير التي تم إنشاؤها بواسطة Lightspeed Filter أفضل بكثير أيضًا. يتذكر لينهارت: "كانت التقارير مع iBoss عامة جدًا ، ومعظمها معلومات عالية المستوى يمكن لأي شخص رؤيتها". "بمجرد أن انتقلنا بالكامل إلى Lightspeed ، كانت التقارير أكثر تحديدًا ، وأظهرت لنا كل ما تم حظره ، وجميع مقاطع الفيديو التي شاهدها الأطفال ، وجميع عمليات البحث التي أجروها ، ولكن بعد ذلك كان هناك أيضًا خيار لإنشاء تقارير تظهر لك نظرة عامة على استخدام الإنترنت لمعرفة بالضبط ما يفعله طلاب معينون عبر الإنترنت ".

من خلال لوحة معلومات التقارير القابلة للتخصيص ، وإمكانيات التنقل ، والواجهة سهلة الاستخدام ، تمكن Lightspeed Filter من تحمل عبء الإبلاغ عن استخدام الطلاب للإنترنت من لوحة قسم التكنولوجيا. سمح هذا لمديري المدارس بتولي هذه المسؤولية.

يقول لينهارت: "يتم تقديم المعلومات الموجودة في لوحة المعلومات جيدًا للمستخدمين النهائيين ، وقد كنا متحمسين لفتح هذا النظام لإدارتنا التي اعتمدت في الماضي على تكنولوجيا المعلومات لتشغيل كل تقرير عن نشاط الطلاب". "يعد تشغيل التقارير أمرًا سهلاً بما يكفي لاستخدامه حيث تمكنا من إظهار مديرينا وغيرهم من المسؤولين عن كيفية استخدام النظام حتى يتمكنوا من القيام بذلك بأنفسهم. لم يكن لديهم هذا الاستقلالية من قبل ، لذلك أعطيناهم تسجيل دخول مرشحًا ، والآن لم يعد فريقي مضطرًا حتى إلى إعداد تقارير عن تاريخ الإنترنت للطلاب ".

عند مقارنة iBoss ، حيث كان على قسم التكنولوجيا التعامل مع العديد من تذاكر الدعم يوميًا ، بـ Lightspeed ، حيث يمتلك المسؤولون القدرة على تشغيل التقارير بأنفسهم ، فإن Lenhart مندهش من الاختلاف. يلاحظ لينهارت: "منذ أن نشرنا مرشح Lightspeed ، لم نضطر إلى تشغيل تقرير طالب واحد من قسم التكنولوجيا". "يقوم المدراء بذلك الآن ، مما يوفر قدرًا لا يُصدق من الوقت لنا لتركيز جهودنا في مكان آخر." ويضيف: "مع iBoss ، كنا نحصل على تذاكر متعددة يوميًا مرتبطة بالترشيح ؛ الآن نحصل على تذكرة واحدة في الشهر باستخدام مرشح Lightspeed ".

المكون الأخير لمرشح Lightspeed الذي يروق لـ Lenhart هو موثوقيته. يقول: "إنها تعمل فقط". "فك تشفير SSL موثوق للغاية ، وأنا أعلم دون أدنى شك أن أجهزة أطفالنا تمت تصفيتها. سمح مرشح Lightspeed لمنطقتنا باستعادة الرؤية لما يفعله الطلاب عبر الإنترنت ".

سمح مرشح Lightspeed لمنطقتنا باستعادة الرؤية لما يفعله الطلاب عبر الإنترنت.

جون لينهارت ، مدير الأنظمة

معلومات

موقعك:

بنسلفانيا ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

الزبون منذ:

2018

الطلاب:

6,200

درجات:

ما قبل الروضة إلى الصف الثاني عشر

طاقم العمل:

7 (إيطاليا)

الأجهزة المستخدمة:

أجهزة Chromebook و Windows Laptops

حلول:

مرشح Lightspeed ™

مشاركه فى

شارك على facebook
شارك على twitter
شارك على linkedin

قراءة متعمقة

Already a Lightspeed Systems customer or partner?
Contact Sales:
|

Dallastown Area School District Switches from iBoss to Lightspeed Filter™ for Better Filtering, Reporting, and Functionality

When Dallastown Area School District decided to initiate a 1:1 program, John Lenhart, Systems Administrator, had a few simple, but critical requirements: The devices needed to be filtered just as effectively off campus as they were on campus, he needed comprehensive reports of what his students were looking at online, and websites needed to be filtered without blocking educational content. When Dallastown purchased iBoss as their 1:1 filter, Lenhart quickly learned that not all filters operate as they’re marketed. Fortunately, Dallastown was able to switch to a more powerful, reliable solution: Lightspeed Filter™.

Lightspeed Filter Saves Disastrous Deployment

Dallastown Area School District serves 6,400 students and 734 employees across two townships in Pennsylvania. Their 1:1 initiative includes 7,500+ devices, and is a mix of Chromebooks and Windows laptops, which meant that their web filter needed to be a multi-OS solution with solid reporting and powerful mobile filtering.

At the time, Dallastown had an inline filter, but it couldn’t keep up with the district’s technology needs. “It just wasn’t performing as well,” said Lenhart. “The reports were slow to load, we’d have to call support every time we needed a report fast, and it just wasn’t scalable for our 1:1, so we started looking at some cloud-based options.”

In their search for a filter that would support their 1:1 program, Dallastown found iBoss, a competing filter that had recently released a cloud-based option and claimed to handle the robust reporting and off campus filtering that Lenhart was looking for. Lenhart was sold, and iBoss became the filtering solution for Dallastown’s 1:1 program.

Immediately, the district began experiencing issues with the filter. “It was absolutely terrible, it didn’t work at all, there were problems from the start that never went away.” says Lenhart.

Aside from being unable to provide the reporting that was promised, the iBoss filter began blocking nearly every site students went to. This led to frustrated kids, teachers, and administrators, and resulted in an overwhelming amount of support tickets for the district IT team. “iBoss would block everything, whether it needed to or not,” says Lenhart. “The iBoss agent required constant authentication, and they would get pop-ups all the time saying ‘iBoss can’t authenticate’ which meant they were stuck without internet.” He adds, “A lot of the time it would close a student’s browser, and they would lose their work. It was infuriating for them.”

Dallastown has 7 staff members in their technology department, which is more than most districts, but the extra hands on deck weren’t much help when the team was constantly talking to support. “With iBoss we were dealing with issues almost every day,” Lenhart notes. “We never had a functional product with them, we were constantly on the phone with support for something and it was just bad all around.”

After several months of back and forth, iBoss agreed to release Dallastown from their 3-year contract. “I just wanted to get out of it, so they agreed to let me pay for one year even though we committed to three,” Lenhart remarks. “I knew Lightspeed Systems® had a cloud filter available at that point, so I said well I’m going to go to Lightspeed.”

[iBoss] was absolutely terrible, it didn't work at all, there were problems from the start that never went away.

John Lenhart, Systems Administrator

Lightspeed Saves the Day

Once Dallastown deployed Lightspeed Filter, it was smooth sailing from there.

Right away, implementation of the filter was easier with Lightspeed than it was with iBoss. “The filter was very easy to implement, especially for Chromebooks,” Lenhart remembers. “We were up and running in less than 30 minutes from pushing out the agent.”

After implementation, Lenhart was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to manage the filter, and how powerful it was. “Once we moved to Lightspeed Filter, we started saving hours a week, every week, and the difference was immediately obvious,” says Lenhart. “The filter blocks sites only when necessary, and we’ve definitely seen a performance increase from the students since moving to Lightspeed Filter.”

Once we moved to Lightspeed Filter, we started saving hours a week, every week, and the difference was immediately obvious.

John Lenhart, Systems Administrator

Allowing Autonomy

Accurate filtering wasn’t the only area where Lightspeed Filter outperformed iBoss – the reports generated by Lightspeed Filter were far superior as well. “The reporting with iBoss was very generic, mostly top-level information that anyone could see,” remembers Lenhart. “Once we fully moved to Lightspeed, the reporting was more specific, it showed us everything that was blocked, all the videos the kids watched, and all the searches they made, but then there was also an option for creating reports that showed you an overview of internet usage to see exactly what particular students are doing online.”

With a customizable reporting dashboard, drill-down capabilities, and a user-friendly interface, Lightspeed Filter was able to take the burden of reporting on students’ internet usage off the technology department’s plate. This allowed school administrators to take on that responsibility.

“The information in the dashboard is presented well to the end users, and we were excited to open up this system to our administration who in the past relied on IT to run every student activity report,” says Lenhart. “Running the reports is easy enough to use that we were able to show our principals and other administrators how to use the system so that they’d be able to do it themselves. They had not had that autonomy before, so we gave them a filter login, and now my team doesn’t even have to do student internet history reports anymore.”

When comparing iBoss, where the technology department had to handle numerous support tickets a day, to Lightspeed, where administrators have the capability to run reports themselves, Lenhart is amazed at the difference. “Since we’ve deployed Lightspeed Filter, we’ve not had to run a single student report out of the tech department,” Lenhart notes. “The principals are doing that now, which saves an incredible amount of time for us to focus our efforts elsewhere.” He adds, “with iBoss we were getting multiple tickets a day that were filter related; now we get maybe one ticket a month with Lightspeed Filter.”

The final component of the Lightspeed Filter that appeals to Lenhart is its reliability. “It just works,” he says. “The SSL decryption is very reliable, and I know without a shadow of a doubt that our kids’ devices are filtered. Lightspeed Filter has allowed our district to reclaim visibility to what students are doing online.”

Lightspeed Filter has allowed our district to reclaim visibility to what students are doing online.

John Lenhart, Systems Administrator

Info

Location:

Pennsylvania, USA

Customer Since:

2018

Students:

6,200

Grades:

PreK-12

Staff Members:

7 (IT)

Devices Used:

Chromebooks, Windows Laptops

Solutions:

Lightspeed Filter™

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin