达拉斯镇学区从iBoss切换到Lightspeed Filter™,以实现更好的过滤,报告和功能

什么时候 达拉斯镇学区 决定启动1:1计划后,系统管理员John Lenhart提出了一些简单但很关键的要求:需要在校园外像在校园内一样有效地过滤设备,他需要有关学生情况的综合报告。在网上看,需要对网站进行过滤,而不会阻止教育内容。当达拉斯镇(Dallastown)购买iBoss 1:1过滤器时,Lenhart很快了解到,并不是所有过滤器都可以在市场上使用。幸运的是,达拉斯镇能够切换到功能更强大,更可靠的解决方案: 光速滤镜™.

Lightspeed过滤器节省了灾难性的部署

达拉斯镇学区在宾夕法尼亚州的两个乡镇为6,400名学生和734名员工提供服务。他们的1:1计划包括7,500多种设备,是Chromebook和Windows笔记本电脑的混合体,这意味着他们的网络过滤器必须是具有可靠报告和强大的移动过滤功能的多操作系统解决方案。

当时,达拉斯镇(Dallastown)配备了在线过滤器,但无法满足该地区的技术需求。伦哈特说:“它的表现也不尽如人意。” “报告的加载速度很慢,每次需要快速报告时,我们都必须致电支持部门,而且由于1:1无法扩展,因此我们开始寻找一些基于云的选项。”

在寻找支持其1:1程序的过滤器时,达拉斯镇发现了iBoss,这是一个竞争性过滤器,最近发布了基于云的选项,并声称可以处理Lenhart所寻找的强大报告和校外过滤。 Lenhart被出售,iBoss成为达拉斯城1:1计划的过滤解决方案。

随即,该地区开始遇到过滤器问题。 “这绝对是可怕的,它根本没有用,从一开始就存在着问题永远不会消失。”伦哈特说。

除了无法提供承诺的报告外,iBoss筛选器还开始阻止几乎每个学生访问的站点。这导致孩子,老师和行政管理人员感到沮丧,并导致大量的地区IT团队支持票。 Lenhart说:“ iBoss会阻止一切,无论是否需要。” “ iBoss代理需要持续的身份验证,并且他们会一直弹出“ iBoss无法身份验证”的弹出窗口,这意味着他们无法上网。”他补充说:“很多时候,它会关闭学生的浏览器,他们会失去工作。对他们来说真是令人生气。”

达拉斯镇的技术部门有7名员工,比大多数地区都要多,但是当团队不断寻求支持时,额外的手把手并没有多大帮助。 Lenhart指出:“有了iBoss,我们几乎每天都在处理问题。” “我们从来没有与他们一起使用过功能性产品,我们一直在电话中提供某些支持,但到处都是不好的。”

经过几个月的来回交易,iBoss同意从达拉斯镇的3年合同中解约。伦哈特说:“我只是想摆脱困境,所以即使我们承诺三年,他们也同意让我支付一年的费用。” “我知道 LightspeedSystems® 那时有可用的云过滤器,所以我说我要去光速了。”

[iBoss]绝对可怕,它根本不起作用,从一开始就存在一些问题永远不会消失。

系统管理员John Lenhart

光速拯救世界

一旦达拉斯镇部署完毕 光速滤镜,从那里航行顺畅。

立刻,使用Lightspeed过滤器比使用iBoss过滤器更容易实施。 Lenhart回忆说:“该过滤器非常容易实现,尤其是对于Chromebook。” “从推出该代理程序开始,不到30分钟我们就可以启动并运行。”

实施后,Lenhart感到惊讶的是,它的管理如此简单,功能多么强大。 Lenhart说:“一旦我们迁移到Lightspeed Filter,我们便开始每周每周节省数小时,并且区别立即显而易见。” “过滤器仅在必要时才阻止网站,并且自从移至Lightspeed过滤器以来,我们肯定能看到学生的表现有所提高。”

转移到Lightspeed Filter后,我们每周开始每周节省几小时,并且区别显而易见。

系统管理员John Lenhart

允许自治

并非只有精确过滤 光速滤镜 胜过iBoss – Lightspeed Filter生成的报告也要好得多。 Lenhart回忆说:“ iBoss的报告非常通用,几乎是任何人都可以看到的顶级信息。” “一旦我们完全转移到Lightspeed,报告就会变得更加具体,它向我们显示了所有被阻止的内容,孩子们观看的所有视频以及他们进行的所有搜索,但是还有一个创建报告的选项,可以向您显示互联网使用情况概述,以准确了解特定学生在网上做什么。”

借助可自定义的报告仪表板,向下钻取功能和友好的用户界面,Lightspeed Filter能够减轻技术部门的负担,以报告学生的互联网使用情况。这使学校管理员可以承担这一责任。

Lenhart说:“仪表板中的信息可以很好地呈现给最终用户,我们很高兴向我们的管理人员开放该系统,而以往依靠IT来运行每个学生活动报告。” “运行报告非常容易使用,我们能够向我们的负责人和其他管理员展示如何使用该系统,以便他们能够自己进行操作。他们以前没有这种自治权,因此我们为他们提供了过滤器登录,现在我的团队甚至不必再做学生互联网历史记录报告。”

将技术部门每天必须处理大量支持票的iBoss与管理员可以自行运行报告的Lightspeed相比较时,Lenhart对此感到惊讶。 Lenhart指出:“自从我们部署了Lightspeed Filter之后,我们就不必再在技术部门之外发布一份学生报告了。” “校长现在正在这样做,这为我们节省了将不可思议的时间集中到其他地方的时间。”他补充说:“通过iBoss,我们每天获得多张与过滤器相关的票证;现在我们每月可以通过Lightspeed Filter获得一张票。”

Lenspeed吸引人的Lightspeed滤光片的最终组件是其可靠性。他说:“这行得通。” “ SSL解密非常可靠,我毫不怀疑我们的孩子的设备已被过滤。 Lightspeed Filter使我们的学区能够重新获得学生在线活动的可见性。”

Lightspeed Filter使我们学区可以重新获得学生在线活动的可见性。

系统管理员John Lenhart

信息

位置:

美国宾夕法尼亚州

客户以来:

2018

学生们:

6,200

成绩:

PreK-12

职员:

7(IT)

使用的设备:

Chromebook,Windows笔记本电脑

解决方案:

光速滤镜™

分享

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin

进一步阅读

Already a Lightspeed Systems customer or partner?
Contact Sales:
|

Dallastown Area School District Switches from iBoss to Lightspeed Filter™ for Better Filtering, Reporting, and Functionality

When Dallastown Area School District decided to initiate a 1:1 program, John Lenhart, Systems Administrator, had a few simple, but critical requirements: The devices needed to be filtered just as effectively off campus as they were on campus, he needed comprehensive reports of what his students were looking at online, and websites needed to be filtered without blocking educational content. When Dallastown purchased iBoss as their 1:1 filter, Lenhart quickly learned that not all filters operate as they’re marketed. Fortunately, Dallastown was able to switch to a more powerful, reliable solution: Lightspeed Filter™.

Lightspeed Filter Saves Disastrous Deployment

Dallastown Area School District serves 6,400 students and 734 employees across two townships in Pennsylvania. Their 1:1 initiative includes 7,500+ devices, and is a mix of Chromebooks and Windows laptops, which meant that their web filter needed to be a multi-OS solution with solid reporting and powerful mobile filtering.

At the time, Dallastown had an inline filter, but it couldn’t keep up with the district’s technology needs. “It just wasn’t performing as well,” said Lenhart. “The reports were slow to load, we’d have to call support every time we needed a report fast, and it just wasn’t scalable for our 1:1, so we started looking at some cloud-based options.”

In their search for a filter that would support their 1:1 program, Dallastown found iBoss, a competing filter that had recently released a cloud-based option and claimed to handle the robust reporting and off campus filtering that Lenhart was looking for. Lenhart was sold, and iBoss became the filtering solution for Dallastown’s 1:1 program.

Immediately, the district began experiencing issues with the filter. “It was absolutely terrible, it didn’t work at all, there were problems from the start that never went away.” says Lenhart.

Aside from being unable to provide the reporting that was promised, the iBoss filter began blocking nearly every site students went to. This led to frustrated kids, teachers, and administrators, and resulted in an overwhelming amount of support tickets for the district IT team. “iBoss would block everything, whether it needed to or not,” says Lenhart. “The iBoss agent required constant authentication, and they would get pop-ups all the time saying ‘iBoss can’t authenticate’ which meant they were stuck without internet.” He adds, “A lot of the time it would close a student’s browser, and they would lose their work. It was infuriating for them.”

Dallastown has 7 staff members in their technology department, which is more than most districts, but the extra hands on deck weren’t much help when the team was constantly talking to support. “With iBoss we were dealing with issues almost every day,” Lenhart notes. “We never had a functional product with them, we were constantly on the phone with support for something and it was just bad all around.”

After several months of back and forth, iBoss agreed to release Dallastown from their 3-year contract. “I just wanted to get out of it, so they agreed to let me pay for one year even though we committed to three,” Lenhart remarks. “I knew Lightspeed Systems® had a cloud filter available at that point, so I said well I’m going to go to Lightspeed.”

[iBoss] was absolutely terrible, it didn't work at all, there were problems from the start that never went away.

John Lenhart, Systems Administrator

Lightspeed Saves the Day

Once Dallastown deployed Lightspeed Filter, it was smooth sailing from there.

Right away, implementation of the filter was easier with Lightspeed than it was with iBoss. “The filter was very easy to implement, especially for Chromebooks,” Lenhart remembers. “We were up and running in less than 30 minutes from pushing out the agent.”

After implementation, Lenhart was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to manage the filter, and how powerful it was. “Once we moved to Lightspeed Filter, we started saving hours a week, every week, and the difference was immediately obvious,” says Lenhart. “The filter blocks sites only when necessary, and we’ve definitely seen a performance increase from the students since moving to Lightspeed Filter.”

Once we moved to Lightspeed Filter, we started saving hours a week, every week, and the difference was immediately obvious.

John Lenhart, Systems Administrator

Allowing Autonomy

Accurate filtering wasn’t the only area where Lightspeed Filter outperformed iBoss – the reports generated by Lightspeed Filter were far superior as well. “The reporting with iBoss was very generic, mostly top-level information that anyone could see,” remembers Lenhart. “Once we fully moved to Lightspeed, the reporting was more specific, it showed us everything that was blocked, all the videos the kids watched, and all the searches they made, but then there was also an option for creating reports that showed you an overview of internet usage to see exactly what particular students are doing online.”

With a customizable reporting dashboard, drill-down capabilities, and a user-friendly interface, Lightspeed Filter was able to take the burden of reporting on students’ internet usage off the technology department’s plate. This allowed school administrators to take on that responsibility.

“The information in the dashboard is presented well to the end users, and we were excited to open up this system to our administration who in the past relied on IT to run every student activity report,” says Lenhart. “Running the reports is easy enough to use that we were able to show our principals and other administrators how to use the system so that they’d be able to do it themselves. They had not had that autonomy before, so we gave them a filter login, and now my team doesn’t even have to do student internet history reports anymore.”

When comparing iBoss, where the technology department had to handle numerous support tickets a day, to Lightspeed, where administrators have the capability to run reports themselves, Lenhart is amazed at the difference. “Since we’ve deployed Lightspeed Filter, we’ve not had to run a single student report out of the tech department,” Lenhart notes. “The principals are doing that now, which saves an incredible amount of time for us to focus our efforts elsewhere.” He adds, “with iBoss we were getting multiple tickets a day that were filter related; now we get maybe one ticket a month with Lightspeed Filter.”

The final component of the Lightspeed Filter that appeals to Lenhart is its reliability. “It just works,” he says. “The SSL decryption is very reliable, and I know without a shadow of a doubt that our kids’ devices are filtered. Lightspeed Filter has allowed our district to reclaim visibility to what students are doing online.”

Lightspeed Filter has allowed our district to reclaim visibility to what students are doing online.

John Lenhart, Systems Administrator

Info

Location:

Pennsylvania, USA

Customer Since:

2018

Students:

6,200

Grades:

PreK-12

Staff Members:

7 (IT)

Devices Used:

Chromebooks, Windows Laptops

Solutions:

Lightspeed Filter™

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin