北卡罗来纳州地区与 Lightspeed Systems® 合作,帮助杜绝作弊行为并确保学生安全

挑战:更好的内容过滤和课堂管理软件

Iredell-Statesville 学区 (ISSD),位于北卡罗来纳州中部,为 20,000 多名学生提供服务 学生,多年来一直是 1:1 学区,为学生提供 Mac 和 iPad。但是,在合作之前 对于 Lightspeed Systems,ISSD 缺少该地区的技术支持经理 edtech Ethan Dancy 和他的 社区需要充分利用他们的 1:1 倡议。

Dancy 和他的团队依靠 Zscaler™ 来满足过滤需求,但很难说管理员、教师、 或者学生觉得这更令人沮丧。他说,Zscaler 是一种钝器,无法拥有 他想要对社区的过滤进行精细控制。 我们不得不打电话给某人来改变我们的 过滤规则,” 丹西先生说, 但即使在我们调用它之后,Zscaler 也只能是全有或全无。

此外,学区不仅需要控制学生访问的内容,还需要控制何时访问。 我们正在使用 蜉蝣® 课堂管理软件,但学生在课堂上脱课,作弊是 失控, 丹西先生解释道。 我们必须找到一种方法来管理课堂上的孩子,并确保 学生们实际上是在参与和学习。”

当我们看到 Lightspeed 过滤器™ 的精细程度时,我们知道它非常适合我们。

Ethan Dancy,技术支持经理,Iredell-Statesville 学区

解决方案:对学生设备的可访问内容和可见性进行精细控制

迈向更有效的教育技术环境的第一步是 Dancy 先生与 Lightspeed Systems。 当我们看到 Lightspeed 过滤器的精细程度时, 他说, 我们知道 非常适合我们。

除了对 ISSD 社区可以访问的内容进行精细控制之外,Lightspeed 过滤器还支持 Mr. Dancy 保护他的学生免受 YouTube 等网站中的恶意内容的侵害。感谢 Lightspeed 的 SmartPlay™ 技术,他和他的团队可以向学生提供教育和适合年龄的视频,以帮助 他们在学习的同时仍然拒绝他们访问淫秽或危险的内容。

Dancy 先生还选择在整个 ISSD 学校部署 Lightspeed Classroom Management™。这个 可定制的解决方案通过让教师能够看到每个 学生的设备,关闭学生标签并将学生重定向回任务的能力,以及 与学生分享他们的屏幕。

很多老师现在很欣赏真正监控学生的能力, 丹西先生说, 尤其 当学生不在实体教室时。老师们真的很高兴能得到 Lightspeed 教室 管理层,他们中的大多数人很容易就学会了。

区别:Lightspeed 过滤器和 Lightspeed 教室管理

在部署 Lightspeed 过滤器和 Lightspeed 课堂管理几个月后,新工具已经 对社区产生了变革性的影响。

Dancy 先生特别高兴 Lightspeed 过滤器帮助他的老师们使用 适合他们的内容和工具。 以前,如果一所学校想要阻止某些东西,但另一所学校 没有,我们无法帮助他们, 丹西先生说。 现在,有了 Lightspeed 过滤器,我们能够支持 不同的老师对材料有不同的处理方法。

丹西先生说,对于社区中的许多人来说,作弊变得如此普遍,这让他们感到非常惊讶。 但是,借助 Lightspeed 课堂管理,教师可以轻松识别作弊实例——并且 记录证据给父母看。 老师在抓学生左右作弊, 他说, 但他们正在拍摄屏幕截图并记录学生的屏幕以 显示父母。这有很大的不同。

丹西先生说,结果是学生的新变化 文化。 一些不良行为已经放缓, 他总结道。 学生知道我们可以判断他们是否正在尝试使用他们的 电脑做他们不应该做的事情,那么为什么现在尝试呢?我认为 他们开始将他们的设备视为教育工具。

幸运的是,Lightspeed 的解决方案为 Dancy 先生提供了数据和 报告他需要向管理员展示差异 正确的教育科技可以制造。 我们可以向主管和 我们阻止了这个数量的学生的学校董事会,因为 例如,色情材料, 他解释道。 “那是巨大的,而且 主管们喜欢获取这些数据。”

学生们知道,我们可以判断他们是否正在尝试将计算机用于他们不应该做的事情,那么为什么现在尝试呢?我认为他们开始将他们的设备视为教育工具。

Ethan Dancy,技术支持经理,Iredell-Statesville 学区
Iredell-Statesville 学区徽标

信息

位置:

北卡罗来纳州斯泰茨维尔

客户以来:

2021

学生们:

20,433

成绩:

K-12

设备:

iPad、Macbook

分享

关于光速系统

Lightspeed Systems 总部位于德克萨斯州奥斯汀,是面向 K-12 学校的领先在线安全和有效性平台。作为学生安全和参与的成熟合作伙伴,Lightspeed 使用先进的人工智能来查看和分析网络上的学生活动。 Lightspeed 为全球 38 个国家和 28,000 所学校的超过 2000 万学生提供服务。

进一步阅读

桌面和移动设备上用于远程学习软件的屏幕截图

这是一个演示,在我们身上

还在做你的研究吗?
让我们帮忙!与我们的一位产品专家安排免费演示,以快速回答您的所有问题。

坐在笔记本电脑办公桌前的男人看着 Lightspeed 过滤器仪表板

欢迎回来!

正在寻找我们解决方案的定价信息?
让我们知道您所在地区的要求,我们很乐意为您提供定制报价。

重新构想远程、混合和面对面学习的启发式互动课堂。 Lightspeed Classroom Management™ 让教师可以实时查看和控制学生的数字工作空间和在线活动。

  • 确保所有学生只与正确的在线课程互动——正是在他们应该使用它的时候。
  • 同时向所有学生推送经过审查的课程链接。
  • 阻止不适当或分散注意力的网站和应用程序。

确保可扩展且高效的学习设备管理。 Lightspeed 移动设备管理™ 系统确保学生学习资源的安全可靠管理,实时可见性和报告对于有效的远程学习至关重要。

  • 用于无限可扩展设备、应用程序和策略控制的集中式、基于云的解决方案
  • 自助应用程序库,教师和学生在其中
    可以访问和安装批准的课程和学习工具
  • 远程部署、更改和撤销数百个策略和教育应用程序,同时减少典型的停机时间和成本

防止自杀、网络欺凌和校园暴力。 Lightspeed Alert™ 支持地区管理员和选定人员使用高级 AI 检测和报告潜在威胁,以免为时已晚。

  • 人工审核
  • 标记潜在威胁迹象的实时警报
  • 在事件发生之前迅速进行干预。
  • 活动日志提供对标记事件之前和之后的在线活动的可见性

保护学生免受有害在线内容的侵害。 Lightspeed Filter™ 是一流的解决方案,可作为不适当或非法在线内容的坚实屏障,确保学生 24/7 全天候在线安全。

  • 由行业中最全面的数据库提供支持,该数据库通过 20 年的网络索引和机器学习构建而成。
  • 确保 CIPA 合规
  • 阻止数百万个不适当、有害和未知的网站、图片和视频,包括 YouTube
  • 让家长了解 Lightspeed 家长门户™

全面了解学生的在线学习。 Lightspeed Analytics™ 为学区提供有关他们实施的任何工具有效性的可靠数据,以便他们可以对其技术堆栈采取战略性方法并简化报告。

  • 跟踪教育技术的采用和使用趋势,消除冗余并提高投资回报率
  • 监控应用程序和内容消费,以促进早期采用和有效利用
  • 通过了解学生数据隐私和安全合规性来评估风险

A North Carolina District Partners with Lightspeed Systems® to Help Stamp Out Cheating and Keep Students Safe

The Challenge: Better Content Filtering and Classroom Management Software

Iredell-Statesville School District (ISSD), situated in central North Carolina and serving more than 20,000 students, has been a 1:1 district for years, offering its students both Macs and iPads. However, before partnering with Lightspeed Systems, ISSD lacked the edtech Ethan Dancy, the district’s Technology Support Manager, and his community needed to make the most of their 1:1 initiative.

Dancy and his team relied on Zscaler™ for its filtering needs, but it’s hard to say whether administrators, teachers, or students found it more frustrating. Zscaler, he says was a blunt instrument that made it impossible to have the granular control he wanted over the community’s filtering. We had to call someone to make changes to our filtering rules,” Mr. Dancy said, but even after we called it was all or nothing with Zscaler.

Further, the district didn’t just need to control what content students were accessing, but when. We were using the Dyknow® classroom management software, but students were getting off task in class and cheating was out of control, Mr. Dancy explained. We had to find a way to manage kids in the classroom and make sure students were actually engaged and learning.”

When we saw how granular we could be with Lightspeed Filter™, we knew it was the right fit for us.

Ethan Dancy, Technology Support Manager, Iredell-Statesville School District

Solution: Granular Control over Accessible Content and Visibility into Student Devices

The first step towards a more effective edtech environment came when Mr. Dancy signed up for a demo with Lightspeed Systems. When we saw how granular we could be with Lightspeed Filter, he said, we knew it was the right fit for us.

In addition to granular control over what the ISSD community can access, Lightspeed Filter empowers Mr. Dancy to protect his students from malicious content within sites, such as YouTube. Thanks to Lightspeed’s SmartPlay™ technology, he and his team can make available to students the educational and age-appropriate videos that help them learn while still denying them access to obscene or dangerous content.

Mr. Dancy also chose to deploy Lightspeed Classroom Management™ throughout the ISSD schools. This customizable solution gives teachers control over the digital classroom by giving them visibility into each student’s device, the ability to close student tabs and redirect students back on task, and the capacity to share their screens with students.

A lot of teachers appreciate the ability to really monitor their students now, Mr. Dancy said, especially when students aren’t in the physical classroom. Teachers were really excited to get Lightspeed Classroom Management, and most of them picked it up really easily.

The Difference: Lightspeed Filter and Lightspeed Classroom Management

Just a few months after deploying Lightspeed Filter and Lightspeed Classroom Management, the new tools have had a transformative impact on the community.

Mr. Dancy is particularly pleased that Lightspeed Filter has helped him empower his teachers to use the content and tools that work for them. Before, if one school wanted something blocked but another school didn’t, we weren’t able to help them, Mr. Dancy said. Now, with Lightspeed Filter, we’re able to support different teachers with their different approaches to the material.

Mr. Dancy says it came as quite a surprise to many in the community just how prevalent cheating had become. However, thanks to Lightspeed Classroom Management, teachers can easily identify instances of cheating—and document the evidence to show parents. Teachers are catching students cheating left and right, he said, but they’re taking screen shots and recording students’ screens to show parents. That makes a big difference.

The result, Mr. Dancy says, is an emerging change in the student culture. Some of the bad behavior has slowed down, he concluded. Students know that we can tell if they’re trying to use their computers for stuff they shouldn’t do, so why try now? I think they’re starting to see their devices as educational tools.

Fortunately, Lightspeed’s solutions give Mr. Dancy the data and reporting he needs in order to show administrators the difference the right edtech can make. We can show the superintendent and the school board that we blocked this number of students from, for instance, pornographic material, he explained. “That’s huge, and superintendents love getting this data.”

Students know that we can tell if they’re trying to use their computers for stuff they shouldn’t do, so why try now? I think they’re starting to see their devices as educational tools.

Ethan Dancy, Technology Support Manager, Iredell-Statesville School District
Iredell-Statesville School District logo

Info

Location:

Statesville, North Carolina

Customer Since:

2021

Students:

20,433

Grades:

K-12

Devices:

iPad, Macbook

Share On

About Lightspeed Systems

Lightspeed Systems, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is a leading online safety and effectiveness platform for K–12 schools. A proven partner for student safety and engagement, Lightspeed uses advanced AI to view and analyze student activity across the web. Lightspeed serves over 20 million students in 38 countries and 28,000 schools globally.

You May Also Like

screenshots on desktop and mobile devices for distance learning software

Here's a demo, on us

Still doing your research?
Let us help! Schedule a free demo with one of our product experts to get all of your questions answered quickly.

man sitting at desk on laptop looking at Lightspeed Filter dashboard

Welcome back!

Looking for pricing information for our solutions?
Let us know about your district’s requirements and we’ll be happy to build a custom quote.

Reimagine the inspired and interactive classroom for remote, hybrid, and in-person learning. Lightspeed Classroom Management™ gives teachers real-time visibility and control of their students’ digital workspaces and online activity.

  • Ensure all students interact with only the right online curriculum — precisely when they’re supposed to use it.
  • Push out vetted curriculum links to all students at the same time.
  • Block inappropriate or distracting web sites and apps.

Ensure scalable & efficient learning device management. The Lightspeed Mobile Device Management™ system ensures safe and secure management of student learning resources with real-time visibility and reporting essential for effective distance learning.

  • A centralized, cloud-based solution for infinitely scalable device, application, and policy controls
  • Self-Service App Library, where teachers and students
    can access and install approved curriculum and learning tools
  • Remotely deploy, change, and revoke hundreds of policies and educational applications, while reducing typical downtime and costs

Prevent suicides, cyberbullying, and schoolviolence. Lightspeed Alert™ supports district administrators and selected personnel with advanced AI to detect and report potential threats before it’s too late.

  • Human review
  • Real-time alerts that flag signs of a potential threat
  • Intervene quickly before an incident occurs.
  • Activity logs provide visibility into online activity before and after a flagged event

Protect students from harmful online content. Lightspeed Filter™ is the best-in-class solution that acts as a solid barrier to inappropriate or illicit online content to ensure students’ online safety 24/7.

  • Powered by the most comprehensive database in the industry built through 20 years of web indexing and machine learning.
  • Ensure CIPA compliance
  • Block millions of inappropriate, harmful, and unknown sites, images, and video including YouTube
  • Keep parents informed with the Lightspeed Parent Portal™

Gain complete visibility into students’ online learning. Lightspeed Analytics™ gives districts robust data on the effectiveness of any tools they implement so they can take a strategic approach to their technology stack and streamline reporting.

  • Track education technology adoption and usage trends, eliminate redundancy, and drive ROI
  • Monitor app and content consumption to facilitate early adoption and effective utilization
  • Assess risk with visibility into student data privacy and security compliance