Lightspeed Systems 帮助肯塔基州教育部确保学生在线安全

AWS 公共部门合作伙伴 Lightspeed Systems 帮助肯塔基州教育部有效部署在线安全解决方案,保护在线学生,并为 K-12 领导者提供工具来做出关于在线学习的更好决策。 Lightspeed 基于云的解决方案提供 内容过滤, 数据管理实时通知 学生安全问题。

寻找安全的移动学习解决方案

安全是必不可少的 肯塔基州教育部 (KDE).为全州所有 171 个公立学区提供教育技术服务的州政府机构必须遵守《儿童互联网保护法》(CIPA) 和其他互联网安全法,以保护 650,000 名注册学生和 150,000 名在线工作人员。 “我们与所有 171 个当地学区合作,以确保所有学生和教职员工都能安全可靠地访问互联网作为教学资源,”肯塔基州教育技术办公室客户关系和新兴技术主管查克奥斯汀说。教育。 1998 年制定的州级互联网安全法要求该部门必须提供针对不当内容以及恶意软件和病毒的保护。 “在过去的二十年里,我们一直在提供互联网安全措施并专注于数字公民,”奥斯汀说。

几年来,KDE 通过来自 Lightspeed Systems 的本地 Web 过滤解决方案提供安全和身份验证服务,Lightspeed Systems 是 亚马逊网络服务 (AWS) 公共部门合作伙伴计划 (PSP)AWS 高级技术合作伙伴教育能力合作伙伴.然而,随着所有肯塔基州学校在大流行开始时转向虚拟学习,教育技术办公室意识到它需要一个更灵活的安全解决方案来满足学生和教师从校园以外访问学习内容的需求。 “要在任何地方提供始终在线的学习,我们知道我们必须专注于基于云的互联网安全解决方案,”奥斯汀说。

为基于云的过滤和分析部署 Lightspeed Systems

作为过去五年的现有 Lightspeed Systems 客户,KDE 决定实施最新的基于云的平台,这是一种基于 AWS 的解决方案,使该部门能够支持远程学习环境中的在线安全。 “部署 Lightspeed 过滤器(以前称为 Lightspeed 中继)对我们来说是一个轻松的决定,因为它是保护学生和教师的云优先解决方案,”Austin 说。 “它基于 AWS 的事实让我们对它具有可扩展性并提供急需的可靠性和增强的安全性充满信心。”

Lightspeed Systems 使用先进的人工智能 (AI) 技术为美国 K-12 学校提供在线安全和分析平台。 Lightspeed 过滤器提供网络过滤和学生活动报告,同时支持任何设备或操作系统。解决方案继续运行 亚马逊弹性计算云 (Amazon EC2) 实例并依赖于 亚马逊关系数据库服务 (Amazon RDS) 作为其数据库,同时将数据存储在 亚马逊简单存储服务 (Amazon S3) 存储桶。 Lightspeed过滤器用途 AWS Lambda 无服务器架构以实现轻松的可扩展性,因此 Lightspeed Systems 可以根据需求增加计算能力。 “我们与教育部合作了五年多,我们正在从本地设备转向基于云的服务。与此同时,大流行要求所有学生、教师和员工都能在校外安全访问互联网,因此这对两个组织来说都是合适的,”Lightspeed Systems 客户成功副总裁 Rob Chambers 说。

除了过滤之外,Lightspeed 还提供学生安全警报功能,当学生面临自我伤害或对他人暴力的风险时,肯塔基州学区可以根据需要实施该功能提供实时通知。该平台的另一个有用组件是 Lightspeed 课堂管理解决方案,可帮助教师在远程工作时让学生专注于任务。

此外,KDE 已开始使用 AWS 支持的 Lightspeed 分析来报告和了解学生对教育技术应用程序和服务的使用和采用情况。此功能使 KDE 能够采用数据优先的方法并利用全面的数据分析来发挥其优势。

部署 Lightspeed 过滤器(以前称为 Lightspeed 中继)对我们来说是一个轻松的决定,因为它是保护学生和教师的云优先解决方案。

Chuck Austin,客户关系和新兴技术主管

立即转向虚拟课堂

自 2010 年以来,KDE 积极且全国领先的云优先战略使得在大流行开始时立即过渡到虚拟学习。 “我们必须尽快转向 100% 的虚拟教学,我们之所以能够这样做,是因为我们致力于云优先以及我们与 Lightspeed Systems 和其他行业领先的服务提供商的现有合作伙伴关系,”奥斯汀说。

确保数十万学生和教师的在线安全

KDE 正在通过 Lightspeed 平台提供对在线学习资源的安全访问来保护学生和教师。具体而言,基于云的过滤使肯塔基州学区能够制定政策和使用指南,这对于遵守州和联邦有关安全技术的法律至关重要。

此外,肯塔基学区可以依靠 Lightspeed Systems 进行快速轻松的部署、对其远程学习计划的完全可见性以及及时的产品更新。 “我们在全州的技术支持人员数量有限,因此拥有像 Lightspeed 这样的合作伙伴来帮助当地学区管理互联网安全对我们来说非常有益,”奥斯汀说。

帮助教育领导者做出更明智的决定

使用 Lightspeed Analytics 的功能,肯塔基学区正在收集和分析有关学生和教师如何使用学区应用程序的关键数据。利用这些数据,当地地区领导人将能够获得正确的信息,以做出更明智的数据驱动决策。例如,通过数据分析,领导层可以更好地利用他们在高使用率和影响力领域的支出。 Chambers 说:“长期以来,教育部一直在用数据做伟大的事情,我们很高兴与他们合作,依靠 AWS 的力量从他们的数据中获得更多收益。”

肯塔基州教育部徽标

信息

位置:

美国肯塔基州

客户以来:

2016

学生们:

650,000

年龄范围:

K-12

使用的设备:

iPad,Chromebook,Windows笔记本电脑

分享

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin

关于光速系统

Lightspeed Systems 总部位于德克萨斯州奥斯汀,是面向 K-12 学校的领先在线安全和有效性平台。作为学生安全和参与的成熟合作伙伴,Lightspeed 使用先进的人工智能来查看和分析网络上的学生活动。 Lightspeed 为全球 38 个国家和 28,000 所学校的超过 2000 万学生提供服务。

进一步阅读

Lightspeed Systems Helps Kentucky Department of Education Keep Students Safe Online

Lightspeed Systems, an AWS Public Sector Partner, helped the Kentucky Department of Education deploy online safety solutions efficiently, protect students online, and give K–12 leaders tools to make better decisions about online learning. The Lightspeed cloud-based solutions provide content filtering, data management, and real-time notifications of student safety concerns.

Looking for a Secure Mobile Learning Solution

Security is essential for the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE). The state government agency, which provides education technology services to all 171 public school districts across the state, must comply with the Children’s Internet Protection Act (CIPA) and other internet safety laws to protect 650,000 enrolled students and 150,000 staff members online. “We partner with all 171 local school districts to ensure all students and staff have safe and secure access to the internet as an instructional resource,” says Chuck Austin, chief of customer relations and emerging technology for the Office of Education Technology, Kentucky Department of Education. A state-level internet safety law established in 1998 requires the Department must provide protection from inappropriate content as well as malware and viruses. “We’ve been providing internet safety measures and focusing on Digital Citizenship for the last two decades,” says Austin.

For several years, KDE provided security and authentication services through an on- premises web-filtering solution from Lightspeed Systems, a member of the Amazon Web Services (AWS) Public Sector Partner Program (PSP) and an AWS Advanced Technology Partner and Education Competency Partner. However, as all Kentucky schools pivoted to virtual learning at the onset of the pandemic, the Office of Education Technology realized it needed a more flexible security solution to meet the needs of students and teachers accessing learning content from away from the school campus. “To deliver anywhere, always-on learning, we knew we had to focus on a cloud-based internet safety solution,” says Austin.

Deploying Lightspeed Systems for Cloud-based Filtering and Analytics

An existing Lightspeed Systems customer for the last five years, KDE decided to implement the latest cloud-based platform, an AWS-based solution, enabling the Department to support online safety in a distance learning environment. “It was an easy decision for us to deploy Lightspeed Filter (formerly Lightspeed Relay), because it’s a cloud-first solution for protecting students and teachers,” says Austin. “The fact that it is based on AWS gave us a lot of confidence that it would be scalable and offer much-needed reliability and enhanced security.”

Lightspeed Systems uses advanced artificial intelligence (AI) technology to provide an online safety and analytics platform for K–12 schools throughout the US. Lightspeed Filter provides web filtering and reports on student activity while supporting any device or operating system. The solution runs on Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances and relies on Amazon Relational Database Service (Amazon RDS) as its database, while storing data in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets. Lightspeed Filter uses AWS Lambda serverless architecture to enable easy scalability so Lightspeed Systems can add compute capacity based on demand. “We had worked with the Department of Education for more than five years, and we were shifting from on-premises appliances to cloud-based services. At the same time, the pandemic required availability for secure internet access away from school for all students, teachers, and staff, so it was the right fit for both organizations,” says Rob Chambers, vice president of customer success for Lightspeed Systems.

In addition to filtering, Lightspeed offers a student safety alert feature that provides real-time notifications when students are at risk of self-harm or violence towards others that Kentucky school districts can implement as needed. Another helpful component of the platform is the Lightspeed Classroom Management solution that helps teachers keep students on task while working remotely.

Additionally, KDE has begun using AWS-powered Lightspeed Analytics for reporting and visibility into student usage and adoption of education technology applications and services. This feature enables KDE to take a data-first approach and leverage comprehensive data analysis to its advantage.

It was an easy decision for us to deploy Lightspeed Filter (formerly Lightspeed Relay), because it's a cloud-first solution for protecting students and teachers.

Chuck Austin, Chief of Customer Relations and Emerging Technology

Pivoting to Virtual Classroom Immediately

KDE’s aggressive and nation-leading cloud first strategy since 2010 enabled an immediate transition to virtual learning at the onset of the pandemic. “We had to pivot to 100 percent virtual instruction as fast as we could, and we were able to do so because of our commitment to cloud-first and our existing partnerships with Lightspeed Systems and other industry-leading service providers,” says Austin.

Keeping Hundreds of Thousands of Students and Teachers Safe Online

KDE is protecting students and teachers by providing safe and secure access to online learning resources with the Lightspeed platform. Specifically, the cloud-based filtering enables Kentucky school districts to establish policy and usage guidelines, which is critical for compliance with state and federal laws around safe technology.

In addition, Kentucky school districts can rely on Lightspeed Systems for fast and easy deployment, complete visibility into their distance learning program, and timely product updates. “We have a limited number of technology support staff across the state, so it is extremely beneficial for us to have a partner like Lightspeed to help local school districts manage internet safety,” Austin says.

Helping Educational Leaders Make Smarter Decisions

Using the features of Lightspeed Analytics, Kentucky school districts are collecting and analyzing key data about how students and teachers use district applications. Taking advantage of this data, the local district leaders will be able to get the right information to make smarter, data-driven decisions. With data analytics, leadership can better leverage their spending in areas of high usage and impact, for example. Says Chambers, “The Department of Education has been doing great things with data for a long time, and we are excited to partner with them to get even more from their data, relying on the power of AWS.”

Kentucky Department of Education logo

Info

Location:

Kentucky, USA

Customer Since:

2016

Students:

650,000

Age range:

K-12

Devices Used:

iPad, Chromebooks, Windows Laptops

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

About Lightspeed Systems

Lightspeed Systems, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is a leading online safety and effectiveness platform for K–12 schools. A proven partner for student safety and engagement, Lightspeed uses advanced AI to view and analyze student activity across the web. Lightspeed serves over 20 million students in 38 countries and 28,000 schools globally.

Further Reading