欧佩莱卡城市学校 (AL),致力于通过 Lightspeed Alert™ 确保每个学生的安全 - 100%

挑战

从她的 K-12 职业生涯开始,Stacy Royster 就将学生安全放在首位。当她过渡到目前担任首席技术官的职位时 欧佩莱卡城市学校 (OCS),这个承诺依然坚定。

“不幸的是,我有一个学生自杀身亡,当我担任这个职位时,我立下的誓言之一就是确保我能够保护学生并在校内外照顾他们,”罗伊斯特透露。

Royster 成为他们的新 CTO, Opelika City Schools 致力于保证所有学生的安全——当时是 100%。 这被证明是具有挑战性的,因为该地区位于阿拉巴马州的一条主要州际公路沿线,在那里绑架和贩卖儿童是不幸的现实。

Lightspeed Alert 对我们的工作产生了重大影响。它使我和我们的其他技术人员不必全天候监视电子邮件。如果有什么事情需要我们注意,我们会接到一个电话,然后决定从那里开始。

欧佩莱卡市 (AL) 学校首席技术官 Stacy Royster

解决方案

作为长期订阅者 光速滤镜™, Opelika City Schools 知道他们可以信任 Lightspeed Systems® 为他们提供符合 Opelika 标准的解决方案。

罗伊斯特采用 光速警报,这是一种预警威胁检测系统,可防止自残、网络欺凌、自杀和校园暴力。人工智能技术扫描和标记教育应用程序、浏览器、文档以及聊天消息和社交媒体平台中的指标。

警报会同时发送给 Opelika 安全人员和训练有素的 24/7/365 Lightspeed 安全专家,然后由他们进行威胁评估。迫在眉睫的威胁会立即升级到 OCS 安全人员和/或执法部门,让 OCS 高枕无忧,无论何时何地,任何警报都不会被忽视。

“我们需要以隐藏的方式观察警告信号,学生将通过技术发布这些信息。他们会在 Google 搜索、在线文档或私人聊天中输入内容。拥有接收即时警报的技术已经在许多方面改变了生活。 Lightspeed Alert 对我们的工作产生了重大影响。它使我和我们的其他技术人员不必全天候监视电子邮件。如果有什么事情需要我们注意,我们会接到一个电话,然后决定从那里开始”,Royster 说

结果

实施后不久,Opelika 收到了来自 Lightspeed 团队的警报,称一名二年级学生正在输入文件,坦白他们想要结束生命的原因。 Royster 回忆说,“我的心沉了下来,但我们立即看到了警报,并且能够进行干预并为他们提供所需的支持。”

在 Lightspeed 警报和人类响应小组的支持下,欧佩莱卡区已经能够在发生之前阻止多起绑架、自残事件和自杀未遂事件。 “如果没有预警威胁检测系统,我们就有可能在为时已晚之前无法发出警报。”罗伊斯特说。

通过与 Lightspeed Systems 合作,Opelika 可以继续履行他们保护所有学生安全的承诺——当时是 100%。地区安全和技术人员知道他们有 Lightspeed 安全专家的支持,他们可以将精力集中在其他领域,这让他们高枕无忧,无论在哪一天或什么时候,警报都不会被忽视。

“我对拥有 Lightspeed Systems 以及它允许我们做的事情感到无比感激。现在,我可以晚上睡觉了,知道这是在外面,这是我可以保护学生安全的一种方式。学生的安全是我们的首要任务,这些技术改变了我们的运营方式。”罗伊斯特解释道。

我对拥有 Lightspeed Systems 以及它让我们能够做的事情感到无比感激。现在,我可以晚上睡觉了,知道这是在外面,这是我可以保护学生安全的一种方式。

欧佩莱卡市 (AL) 学校首席技术官 Stacy Royster
欧佩莱卡城市学校徽标

信息

位置:

欧佩莱卡, AL

客户以来:

2008

学生们:

4,700

年龄范围:

K-12

使用的设备:

Chromebook、PC

分享

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin

关于光速系统

Lightspeed Systems 总部位于德克萨斯州奥斯汀,是面向 K-12 学校的领先在线安全和有效性平台。作为学生安全和参与的成熟合作伙伴,Lightspeed 使用先进的人工智能来查看和分析网络上的学生活动。 Lightspeed 为全球 38 个国家和 28,000 所学校的超过 2000 万学生提供服务。

进一步阅读

Opelika City Schools (AL), Committed to Keeping Every Student Safe—100% of the Time—with Lightspeed Alert™

Challenge

From the beginning of her K–12 career, Stacy Royster has kept student safety a top priority. When she transitioned to her current role of Chief Technology Officer at Opelika City Schools (OCS), that promise remained steadfast.

“Unfortunately, I had a student that died by suicide and one of the vows that I made when I stepped into this role was to make sure that I can protect students and watch out for them inside and outside of school,” Royster reveals.

With Royster as their new CTO, Opelika City Schools is committed to keeping all students safe—100% of the time. This proved to be challenging as the district is located along a major interstate highway in Alabama where child abductions and trafficking are unfortunate realities.

Lightspeed Alert has had a substantial impact on our work. It has relieved me and our other tech personnel from having to monitor emails around the clock. If something requires our attention, we get a phone call, and determine where to go from there.

Stacy Royster, Chief Technology Officer, Opelika City (AL) Schools

Solution

As a long-time subscriber to Lightspeed Filter™, Opelika City Schools knew they could trust Lightspeed Systems® to provide them with a solution that would measure up to Opelika’s standards.

Royster adopted Lightspeed Alert, which is an early-warning threat detection system that prevents selfharm, cyberbullying, suicide, and school violence. AI technology scans and flags concerning indicators within educational apps, browsers, documents, as well as chat messaging, and social media platforms.

Alerts are sent simultaneously to Opelika safety personnel and to highly trained, 24/7/365 Lightspeed Safety Specialists, who then conduct a threat assessment. Imminent threats are immediately escalated to OCS safety personnel and/or law enforcement, giving OCS peace of mind that no alert will go unnoticed, no matter the day or time.

“We need to watch for warning signs in hidden ways, and students will release this information through technology. They’ll type into a Google search, an online document, or a private chat. Having the technology to receive an immediate alert has been life-changing in many ways. Lightspeed Alert has had a substantial impact on our work. It has relieved me and our other tech personnel from having to monitor emails around the clock. If something requires our attention, we get a phone call, and determine where to go from there”, Royster says

Results

Shortly after implementation, Opelika received an alert from the Lightspeed team about a 2nd grader who was typing into a document, confessing the reasons they wanted to end their life. Royster recalls, “My heart sank, but we saw the alert immediately and were able to intervene and get them the support they needed.”

With the support of Lightspeed Alert and the human response team, Opelika district has been able to stop several abductions, self-harm incidents, and suicide attempts before they took place. “Without an early warning threat detection system, we’d risk alerts not coming through until it is too late.” Royster says.

By partnering with Lightspeed Systems, Opelika can continue to keep their commitment of keeping all students safe—100% of the time. District safety and technology personnel can focus their efforts in other areas knowing they have the support of Lightspeed Safety Specialists giving them peace of mind that no alert will go unnoticed, no matter the day or time.

“I can’t say enough how grateful I am to have Lightspeed Systems in place, and what it has allowed us to do. Now, I can sleep at night knowing that this is out there, and that it’s a way that I can keep students safe. The safety of our students is our top priority, and these technologies have changed the face of how we operate.” Royster explains.

I can’t say enough how grateful I am to have Lightspeed Systems in place, and what it has allowed us to do. Now, I can sleep at night knowing that this is out there, and that it’s a way that I can keep students safe.

Stacy Royster, Chief Technology Officer, Opelika City (AL) Schools
Opelika City Schools logo

Info

Location:

Opelika, AL

Customer Since:

2008

Students:

4,700

Age range:

K-12

Devices Used:

Chromebooks, PCs

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

About Lightspeed Systems

Lightspeed Systems, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is a leading online safety and effectiveness platform for K–12 schools. A proven partner for student safety and engagement, Lightspeed uses advanced AI to view and analyze student activity across the web. Lightspeed serves over 20 million students in 38 countries and 28,000 schools globally.

Further Reading