韦伯斯特中央学区通过LightspeedSystems®将30%的准确报告数量提高了

韦伯斯特中央学区 自2017年以来,已经为8,000多名学生和1,800名教职员工提供服务,并一直是真正的1:1。任何K-12 Tech专业人员都知道,发起,操作和扩展真正的1:1,让每个学生将设备带回家。壮举。 1:1程序的潜在问题包括教学问题,例如让学生不在物理教室中时保持参与,到技术问题(例如跟踪学校拥有的设备)以及确保孩子不在校园时可以确保他们上网安全等技术问题网络。因此,Webster CSD的教育技术和信息总监Brian Zimmer依赖最强大的基于云的Web过滤器, 光速滤镜™.

过渡到云

光速滤镜 是一种多操作系统,基于云的过滤器,它利用了通常与过滤设备关联的功能。 Zimmer指出:“这是我使用过的最简单,最可靠的过滤器。这些报告非常棒,而且使用起来非常简单!我很高兴我们搬到了这个产品。”

Webster最初是Lightspeed客户,当时他们通过Lightspeed Rocket在线过滤器过滤了校园网络中的流量。当韦伯斯特决定转向1:1计划时,Zimmer的团队开始负责学区的3,000多台Chromebook,2,000台iPad和1,400台Windows笔记本电脑,无论它们是在校园内还是校园外。显而易见,内联过滤器无法胜任这项工作,他需要快速找到一种云过滤解决方案。

Zimmer测试了几个竞争的过滤器,但没有一个可以满足Webster的过滤和报告需求。但是随后,他在一次贸易展览上会见了Lightspeed,并决定当场决定使用Lightspeed Filter。现在,Lightspeed的基于云的筛选器可以对Webster的所有1:1设备进行筛选,跟踪和报告。 “我们需要在2017年进行重大升级,以支持拥有所有这些设备,” Zimmer说。 “我们最初使用的是Lightspeed Rocket,然后当我们与Lightspeed团队会面时,我立即说:“我们进来了,我们将尝试它”,并且因为它是一款很棒的产品,所以从未回头。”

在测试竞争性过滤器解决方案时,Zimmer发现它们只是无法与Lightspeed Filter进行比较,特别是在报告方面。 “ Lightspeed的报告比我们在竞争解决方案中所看到的更加准确。由于过滤器的强大,我们看不到Lightspeed会出现太多的自残案件误报。” Zimmer说。 “借助Lightspeed,我们将获得更好,更准确的报告。”

通过查看两家公司提供的数据,齐默尔能够看到,Lightspeed报告的30%的自残和自杀案件的误报率低于竞争过滤器。

此类报告在任何时候都是必不可少的,但在由COVID -19导致的校园关闭期间尤其如此。 Zimmer反思了一个实例,其中Lightspeed Filter的报告对于挽救学生的生命至关重要。

“有一天,我们收到了一份报告的通知,其中学生实际上正在考虑自杀,而且由于使用了Lightspeed,我们能够做出一些非常迅速的决定来支持他们,并确保他们在COVID的最后几个月中一切正常,” Zimmer说。 “过滤器在这方面发挥了作用。当我们与孩子谈论生与死时,该程序确实可靠。”

这是我使用过的最简单,最可靠的过滤器。这些报告非常棒,而且使用起来非常简单!我很高兴我们搬到了这个产品。

教育技术总监Brian Zimmer

简化网页过滤

光速滤镜 Zimmer不仅可以确保他的学生安全,还可以使耗时的任务(如生成报告,阻止站点和跟踪设备)更易于管理。这使Zimmer及其团队可以将时间集中在需要直接关注的案件上。 “我们会收到管理员的询问,询问某些学生每天的工作量,” Zimmer说。 “现在,我可以向他们发送有关孩子们在网上到底在做什么的报告,而不是自己提取数据。我只是将报告和详细历史记录导出发送给管理员,他们可以与孩子的父母共享该报告,而无需将我添加到合并中。”

在节省了他的团队多少时间方面,齐默尔说,两者之间的差异是无法估量的。 “差异很大。我们可以将重点放在需要直接关注的个案上,而不用花费所有时间来提取浅层数据。”

易用性不仅适用于数据和报告。筛选器的可操作仪表板使更新策略变得轻而易举。 “易用性令人难以置信!”齐默惊呼。 “如果我需要根据FERPA或NY Ed Law 2D的更新为学生或协议进行快速更改,那么它很快,很容易,而且不是一个艰苦的过程。对于从管理方面进行管理有多么容易,我还不能说清楚。”

Lightspeed Filter也非常易于访问,可以随时随地进行管理。 “我可以从任何地方的任何设备跳入并进行更新,” Zimmer笑着说。 “以前我甚至已经通过手机和iPad做到了!”

如果我需要根据FERPA或NY Ed Law 2D的更新为学生或协议进行快速更改,那么它很快,很容易,而且不是一个艰苦的过程。对于管理方面的管理有多么容易,我还不能说清楚。

教育技术总监Brian Zimmer

上级支持

作为以前的客户,Zimmer知道Lightspeed的支持是无与伦比的。但是,他在韦伯斯特(Webster)搬到 光速滤镜 从那以后“吹走了他”。

他说:“我真正欣赏的是Lightspeed能很好地响应我们的需求。” “我们将在上午6点,7点的某个时间提出请求,总有人会在一小时内回复我们。那里总有人支持我们。”

Zimmer记得有一次Lightspeed进一步支持并亲自与他的团队会面。 “去年初我们遇到了一些小挑战,一些产品开发人员实际上飞往罗切斯特,并会见了当地地区的代表。我们的几乎所有反馈都在最近的产品更新中获得并实施。您不会从其他公司那里获得这种个性化服务。”

当他思考从Lightspeed Rocket迁移到Lightspeed Filter时,Zimmer毫不后悔。他说:“这个程序很棒。” “我会将其推广给任何人。我不必考虑这是否是Webster的最佳解决方案。我知道它是。”

这个程序很棒。我会把它推广给任何人。我不必考虑这是否是Webster的最佳解决方案。我知道它是。

Hector Valvarde,系统支持技术

信息

位置:

美国纽约

客户以来:

2017

学生们:

8,528

成绩:

PreK-12

职员:

1,400

使用的设备:

Windows笔记本电脑,Chromebook,iPad

解决方案:

光速滤镜™

分享

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin

进一步阅读

Already a Lightspeed Systems customer or partner?
Contact Sales:
|

Webster Central School District Increases Accurate Reports by 30% with Lightspeed Systems®

Webster Central School District serves over 8,000 students, 1,800 faculty members, and has been a true 1:1 since 2017. As any K-12 Tech professional knows, initiating, operating, and scaling a true 1:1 where every student takes home a device is no easy feat. Potential problems with 1:1 programs range from instructional issues like keeping students engaged when they aren’t in a physical classroom to technical problems such as tracking school-owned devices, and making sure kids are safe online when they aren’t on the campus network. That’s why Brian Zimmer, Director of Educational Technology and Information at Webster CSD relies on the most powerful cloud-based web filter, Lightspeed Filter™.

Transitioning to the Cloud

Lightspeed Filter is a multi-OS, cloud-based filter that utilizes the power typically associated with a filtering appliance. Zimmer notes, “It’s the easiest and most reliable filter I’ve ever used. The reports are amazing and so simple to use! I am so glad that we moved to this product.”

Webster had originally been a Lightspeed Customer when they filtered traffic on the campus network through the Lightspeed Rocket inline filter. When Webster decided to move to a 1:1 program, Zimmer’s team became responsible for the District’s 3,000+ Chromebooks, 2,000 iPads, and 1,400 Windows laptops whether they were on or off campus. It was immediately apparent that an inline filter wouldn’t do the job, and he needed to find a cloud-filtering solution, quick.

Zimmer tested several competing filters, but none of them could accommodate the filtering and reporting needs of Webster. But then he met with Lightspeed at a trade show and decided on the spot to move to the Lightspeed Filter. Lightspeed’s cloud-based filter now filters, tracks, and reports on all of Webster’s 1:1 devices. “We needed a major upgrade back in 2017 to support having all of these devices,” says Zimmer. “We used the Lightspeed Rocket at first, and then when we met with the Lightspeed team I immediately said ‘We’re in, we’re going to try it’ and have never looked back since because it’s such a great product.”

When testing competing filter solutions, Zimmer found that they just didn’t compare with Lightspeed Filter, especially when it came to reporting. “The reporting is much more accurate from Lightspeed than we saw with competing solutions. We don’t see as many false positives for self-harm cases coming out of Lightspeed because of the strength of the filter,” said Zimmer. “We’re getting better, more accurate reports with Lightspeed.”

Looking at the data provided by the companies, Zimmer was able to see that Lightspeed reported 30% fewer false positives of self-harm and suicide cases than competing filters.

This type of reporting is an essential anytime, but especially so during campus closures caused by COVID -19. Zimmer reflects on one instance where a report from Lightspeed Filter was critical in saving a student’s life.

“We had a notification from a report one day where the student was actually contemplating suicide, and because of Lightspeed we were able to make some really quick decisions to support them and make sure they were okay during these last few months of COVID,” Zimmer says. “The filter has been instrumental in this aspect. When we’re talking life and death with kids, the program is really reliable.”

It's the easiest and most reliable filter I've ever used. The reports are amazing and so simple to use! I am so glad that we moved to this product.

Brian Zimmer, Director of Educational Technology

Making Web Filtering Easy

Lightspeed Filter not only allows Zimmer to make sure that his students are safe – it also makes time consuming tasks like generating reports, blocking sites, and tracking devices easier to manage. This allows Zimmer and his team to focus their time on cases that need direct attention. “We would get requests from administrators asking what certain students are up to every day,” Zimmer says. “Now I can just send them reports on exactly what the kids are doing online instead of pulling the data myself. I just send the report and the detail history export to the administrator, and they can share it with the kids’ parents without adding me to the mix.”

In terms of how much time this has saved his team, Zimmer says the difference is immeasurable. “The differences are huge. We can focus on individual cases that need direct attention versus spending all of our time pulling shallow data.”

The ease of use doesn’t just apply to data and reports. The filter’s actionable dashboard makes updating policies a cinch. “The ease of use is unbelievable!” Zimmer exclaims. “If I need to make a quick change for a student or for protocol based on an update to FERPA or NY Ed Law 2D, it’s fast, it’s easy, it’s not a painstaking process. I can’t say enough about how easy it is to manage from an administrative side.”

Lightspeed Filter is also very accessible, allowing for management anywhere, anytime. “I can jump in from any device anywhere and make updates,” Zimmer laughs. “I’ve even done it from my phone and from an iPad before!”

If I need to make a quick change for a student or for protocol based on an update to FERPA or NY Ed Law 2D, it's fast, it's easy, it's not a painstaking process. I can't say enough about how easy it is to manage from an administrative side.

Brian Zimmer, Director of Educational Technology

Superior Support

As a former customer, Zimmer knew that support at Lightspeed was unparalleled; however, the level of care and attention he received during Webster’s move to Lightspeed Filter and ever since has “blown him away.”

“What I really appreciate is that Lightspeed is very responsive to our needs,” he says. “We’ll put in requests sometime at 6, 7 a.m., and someone always gets back to us within the hour. There’s always somebody there to support us.”

Zimmer remembers one time where Lightspeed took support a step further and met with his team in person. “We had some minor challenges earlier last year and some of the product developers actually flew out to Rochester and met with the representatives from local districts. Almost all of our feedback was taken and implemented in the recent product updates. You don’t get that type of personalized service from other companies.”

When he reflected on the move to Lightspeed Filter from the Lightspeed Rocket, Zimmer has no regrets. “This program is awesome,” he says. “I would promote it to anyone. I don’t have to think about whether this is the best solution for Webster; I know it is.”

This program is awesome. I would promote it to anyone. I don't have to think about whether this is the best solution for Webster; I know it is.

Hector Valvarde, Systems Support Tech

Info

Location:

New York, USA

Customer Since:

2017

Students:

8,528

Grades:

PreK-12

Staff Members:

1,400

Devices Used:

Windows Laptops, Chromebooks, iPads

Solutions:

Lightspeed Filter™

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin