比弗顿 (OR) 学区通过 Lightspeed Systems® 解决学生在线安全和技术成瘾问题

挑战

经过多年的技术撤资,比弗顿社区于 2014 年通过了一项债券,允许数字 区的学习和商业功能转型。两个关键需求正在扩大现场 过滤以包括在任何使用设备的地方保护学生,以及提供支持工具的需要 学生技术成瘾。满足这两个需求是首席信息官 Steven Langford 的首要任务 官员,为了实施成功的 1:1 计划。

比弗顿学区 需要一个强大的基于云的过滤器来确保学生在学习期间受到保护 学校和家里。 Langford 回忆说,“我们面临的挑战是:我们如何满足过滤要求和 我们想做什么来保护学生,并将其从我们学区的周边扩展到整个城市,或者 超过?我们需要一个过滤合作伙伴,使我们能够轻松地将过滤扩展到该地区之外 世界。”

Langford 继续说道,“此外,当设备回家时,当然在 [COVID-19] 大流行,父母开始不得不应对技术成瘾。我们的孩子可以随时随地学习真是太好了 任何地方,但对一些孩子的意想不到的影响,他们还不能调节。对于我们的一些 学生,他们需要帮助专注于使用技术进行学习。”

比弗顿是全国 13 个与 CoSN 合作开展学生连通性研究的地区之一。我们分析了 1 月份举行的每次 Zoom 会议,涉及我们所有的 40,000 名学生。与此相关的数据集非常庞大。 [Lightspeed] 过滤数据用于分析学生如何远程体验学校。

Steven Langford,首席信息官

2020 年 3 月,全球大流行迫使 Berger 远程实现这些目标,而成功需要确保所有学生的在线安全以及与家长和监护人沟通的能力。 “知道我们的学生何时登录,更重要的是, 当他们不是,此外,与父母保持直接沟通的能力是关键,”伯杰说。

解决方案

订阅 Lightspeed Filter™(以前称为 Relay)以获得在线安全和保障,允许 Beaverton 学区在不中断无缝 1:1 进程的情况下扩大学生保护 程序。 Lightspeed 过滤器由 K-12 最全面的在线内容数据库提供支持,该数据库由两个 数十年的网络索引,并利用专利代理和先进的人工智能自动阻止不当或 有害的网络内容,无论在何处使用地区设备。 Lightspeed 系统基于云 适用于所有设备,操作系统和学习环境的设备级保护。

为了帮助打击学生技术成瘾,Lightspeed 过滤器为比弗顿学区提供了能力 通过在线活动仪表板访问有关学生设备和应用程序使用情况的准确数据,并提供 父母能够通过控件来建立健康的屏幕时间限制,以暂停他们孩子的网页浏览 在家里和课外时间使用设备 Lightspeed Parent Portal™.

此外,该区还实施了 Lightspeed课堂管理™,这使教师能够保持 他们的学生亲自和远程登录、参与和集中注意力。先进的人工智能技术赋予 教师实时查看和控制学生的数字工作区和在线活动。教育工作者可以 安全地向分心的学生发送消息、重定向他们的浏览器、关闭窗口和选项卡并启用屏幕共享 用于学生之间的合作。

结果

自实施 Lightspeed 课堂管理以来,教师们感受到了学区的大力支持。 教师报告说,学生始终如一地完成任务,这改变了他们管理自己的方式 教室。实施该软件后不久,学生们在使用该软件时就了解了对他们的期望 学校发行的设备。分析数据后,Langford 发现排名前 25 的网站类别 正在参观的学生现在正在学习类别。 “我们的学生非常了解 Lightspeed,我认为 帮助他们学习并帮助他们集中注意力——知道有指导方针。”

比弗顿向父母提供了这种可见性,反过来又在理解方面得到了巨大的支持 学校设备用于学习而非娱乐。 “反馈是惊人的。父母会 写信给我,说明这些报告在多大程度上帮助他们了解孩子在做什么”,Langford 解释说。 家长们对学区给予他们关闭学生设备来对抗的能力表示感谢 学生技术成瘾。

学区官员、教师和家长共同努力规范学生技术的使用并防止 瘾。 Langford 说:“Lightspeed 为我们提供的灵活性是能够(按年级)定制一个 为不同年龄段的学生提供安全的学生体验,并让他们专注于学习。”

我们希望软件应用程序...能够保护和保护学生数据,并确保它们不会对我们的基础设施构成安全风险。 Lightspeed 过滤器数据对此起到了重要作用……并帮助我们进行了软件治理。

Steven Langford,首席信息官

信息

位置:

俄勒冈州比弗顿

客户以来:

2016

学生们:

40,400

年龄范围:

K-12

使用的设备:

Chromebook 和 iPad

分享

分享到facebook
分享到twitter
分享到linkedin

关于光速系统

Lightspeed Systems 总部位于德克萨斯州奥斯汀,是面向 K-12 学校的领先在线安全和有效性平台。作为学生安全和参与的成熟合作伙伴,Lightspeed 使用先进的人工智能来查看和分析网络上的学生活动。 Lightspeed 为全球 38 个国家和 28,000 所学校的超过 2000 万学生提供服务。

进一步阅读

Beaverton (OR) School District Tackles Student Online Safety and Technology Addiction With Lightspeed Systems®

Challenge

After years of technology disinvestment, the Beaverton community passed a bond in 2014 allowing a digital transformation for the learning and business functions of the district. Two critical needs were expanding on-site filtering to include protecting students anywhere they used their device, and the need to provide tools supporting student technology addiction. Addressing both needs was a priority for Steven Langford, Chief Information Officer, in order to implement a successful 1:1 program.

Beaverton School District needed a powerful cloud-based filter to ensure students were protected while at school and at home. Langford recalls, “The challenge for us was: How do we take the filtering requirements and what we want to do to protect students, and extend that from the perimeter of our district to the entire city, or beyond? We needed a filtering partner that would allow us to easily extend filtering outside of the district, into the world.”

Langford continues, “Also, when the devices went home, and of course it was exacerbated in the [COVID-19] pandemic, parents started having to deal with technology addiction. It’s wonderful our kids can learn anytime and anywhere, but the unanticipated impact of that is for some kids, they aren’t yet able to regulate. For some of our students, they need help staying focused on using technology for learning.”

Beaverton was one of 13 districts nationally that worked with CoSN on a student connectivity study. We analyzed every Zoom meeting [that took place] in January, for all our 40,000 students. The data set on that was massive. [Lightspeed] Filter data was used to analyze how students experienced school remotely.

Steven Langford, Chief Information Officer

In March 2020, the global pandemic challenged Berger to address these goals remotely, and success necessitated ensuring the online safety of all students and the ability to communicate with parents and guardians. “Knowing when our students were logging in, and even more importantly, when they weren’t, plus, having the ability to maintain direct communication with their parents were key,” said Berger.

Solution

Subscribing to Lightspeed Filter™ (formerly known as Relay) for online safety and security allowed Beaverton School District to extend students’ protection without disrupting the progress made towards a seamless 1:1 program. Lightspeed Filter is powered by K-12’s most comprehensive database of online content, created from two decades of web indexing, and leveraging patented agents and advanced AI to automatically block inappropriate or harmful web content regardless of where a district device is being used. The Lightspeed system is cloud-based with device-level protections that work across all devices, operating systems, and learning environments.

To help combat student technology addiction, Lightspeed Filter provides Beaverton School District the ability to access accurate data regarding student-device and app usage via the Online Activity Dashboard and gives parents the ability to establish healthy screen time limits with controls to pause web browsing on their child’s device while at home and outside of school hours with Lightspeed Parent Portal™.

Additionally, the district implemented Lightspeed Classroom Management™, which enables teachers to keep their students logged in, participating, and focused both in person and remotely. Advanced AI technology gives teachers real-time visibility and control of their students’ digital workspaces and online activity. Educators can safely message a distracted student, redirect their browser, close windows and tabs, and enable screen sharing for collaboration between students.

Results

Teachers have felt immensely supported by the district since implementing Lightspeed Classroom Management. Teachers have reported that students are consistently on task, and it has changed the way they manage their classrooms. Soon after implementing this software, students learned what was expected of them while using a school-issued device. After analyzing the data, Langford discovered that the top 25 categories of sites that students were visiting were now learning categories. “Our students are very aware of Lightspeed, which I think helps with their learning and helps focus them—knowing that there are guiderails up.”

Beaverton had provided this visibility to parents, and in turn has seen tremendous support in the understanding that school devices are used for learning and not entertainment. “The feedback was phenomenal. Parents would write me stating how much those reports helped them understand what their kids were doing”, Langford explains. Parents expressed their gratitude to the district for giving them the ability to turn off student devices to combat student technology addiction.

Together, district officials, teachers, and parents have worked to regulate student technology usage and prevent addiction. Langford says, “The flexibility that Lightspeed has given us is the ability to, [by grade level], tailor a student experience that’s safe for students by age group, and also focus them on learning.”

We want software applications...that secure and protect student data, and make sure that they aren't posing a security risk to our infrastructure. The Lightspeed Filter data has been instrumental to that...and has helped us with our software governance.

Steven Langford, Chief Information Officer

Info

Location:

Beaverton, OR

Customer Since:

2016

Students:

40,400

Age range:

K-12

Devices Used:

Chromebooks and iPads

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

About Lightspeed Systems

Lightspeed Systems, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is a leading online safety and effectiveness platform for K–12 schools. A proven partner for student safety and engagement, Lightspeed uses advanced AI to view and analyze student activity across the web. Lightspeed serves over 15 million students in 38 countries and 28,000 schools globally.

Further Reading