劳德代尔县学区借助 Lightspeed 过滤器™ 保护学生免受危险内容的侵害

挑战

2019 年,为阿拉巴马州北部 8,500 名学生提供服务的农村学校系统劳德代尔县学区 (LCSD) 面临问题。康文署的过滤服务 - Bark - 无法满足学区的需求:为了实施 1:1 计划,在保证学生安全的同时允许访问关键教育材料,学区需要阻止所有危险内容而不阻止其他任何内容。

巴克在这两个方面都未能通过该地区。首先,过滤器将许多基本教育内容标记为潜在风险。例如,当教师分配学生 Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird 时,过滤器会经常提醒学区的 IT 团队学生正在参与潜在的危险和暴力在线内容。更糟糕的是,Bark 经常会泄露实际上对学生安全构成威胁的内容。过滤器中的这些虚假标志和漏洞迫使学区花费大量额外的时间和资源来确保学生的安全。

我们花了很多时间追逐错误的东西,”学生服务部主任约翰·曼塞尔说。 “我们旧过滤器的问题非常耗时,让我的团队无法承担其他责任。

我们旧过滤器的问题非常耗时,让我的团队无法承担其他责任。

John Mansell,劳德代尔县学区学生服务主任

解决方案

为了更好地保护康文署的学生,并让他的团队腾出时间处理其他关键任务,Mansell 先生改用 Lightspeed 过滤器。

Lightspeed 过滤器是一流的解决方案,可保护学生免受有害材料的侵害,从而确保他们的在线安全。 Lightspeed Systems® 拥有业内最成熟、最完整的 K-12 数据库,利用数据科学家的人工审查和先进的人工智能技术来阻止不适当的网站——包括新的和未知的网站——同时仍然允许访问重要的教育材料。 Lightspeed 过滤器通过适用于所有设备、操作系统和学习环境的设备级保护帮助技术团队扩展学生安全。无论是保护带回家的设备还是自定义年级级别的阻止列表,过滤器都在所有设备上覆盖了 SSL 解密区域,网络上和离线,都在云中。

Lightspeed 过滤器专为开箱即用的 CIPA 合规性而设计,利用 20 年的网络索引将超过 6000 万个 URL 过滤到 138 个默认类别中。通过本地级别的精细设置,Mansell 先生现在拥有完全控制权,并且可以对每个学生组中的网站进行分类。除了避免如此多的错误警报外,他还可以在新网站和未知网站被归类到数据库之前将其屏蔽。

结果

Lightspeed 过滤器在很多方面都表现得更好,”曼塞尔先生说。 “现在我实际上可以回家,每晚睡八个小时。” Mansell 先生解释说,既然康文署已经采用了 Lightspeed 过滤器,他就不必那么担心了。该过滤器允许学生访问适合年龄的材料(例如,关于 Harper Lee 的文章),同时还可以阻止恶意内容。

Mansell 先生还强调,采用 Lightspeed 过滤器特别有利于学区的社会工作者更好地服务于精神和情绪健康问题的学生。 “我们的社会工作者对这个过滤器更满意,“ 他说。 “如果学生谈论抑郁或切割或其他形式的自残,它会做得更好。这个过滤器在标记这类在线活动方面做得非常好,这有助于我们为这些学生提供他们需要的帮助和咨询服务。我真的认为我们挽救了一些生命。

与学区以前的过滤器相比,Lightspeed Systems 需要 IT 团队的时间和资源更少,但它正在帮助 LCSD 更好地保护学生免受危险内容的侵害,保持他们对关键材料的访问,并帮助促进公共卫生。 “Lightspeed 只是一个非常好的过滤器,”曼塞尔先生总结道。 “我会推荐给其他地区。”

过滤器在帮助我们获得学生所需的帮助和咨询服务方面做得非常好。我真的认为我们挽救了一些生命。

John Mansell,劳德代尔县学区学生服务主任
劳德代尔县学区徽标

信息

位置:

阿拉巴马州劳德代尔县

客户以来:

2019

学生们:

8,500

成绩:

K-12

使用的设备:

Chromebook

解决方案:

分享

关于光速系统

Lightspeed Systems 总部位于德克萨斯州奥斯汀,是面向 K-12 学校的领先在线安全和有效性平台。作为学生安全和参与的成熟合作伙伴,Lightspeed 使用先进的人工智能来查看和分析网络上的学生活动。 Lightspeed 为全球 38 个国家和 28,000 所学校的超过 2000 万学生提供服务。

进一步阅读

桌面和移动设备上用于远程学习软件的屏幕截图

这是一个演示,在我们身上

还在做你的研究吗?
让我们帮忙!与我们的一位产品专家安排免费演示,以快速回答您的所有问题。

坐在笔记本电脑办公桌前的男人看着 Lightspeed 过滤器仪表板

欢迎回来!

正在寻找我们解决方案的定价信息?
让我们知道您所在地区的要求,我们很乐意为您提供定制报价。

Lauderdale County School District protects its students from dangerous content with the help of Lightspeed Filter™

Challenge

In 2019, Lauderdale County School District (LCSD), a rural school system serving 8,500 students in northern Alabama, faced a problem. LCSD’s filtering service—Bark—wasn’t meeting the district’s needs: to implement a 1:1 program that kept students safe while granting access to critical educational materials, the district needed to block all dangerous content without blocking anything else.

Bark failed the district on both counts. First, the filter was flagging a lot of essential educational content as potentially risky. For example, when teachers assigned students Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird, the filter would frequently alert the district’s IT team that students were engaging potentially dangerous and violent online content. Worse, Bark would often let through content that actually posed a threat to student safety. These false flags and holes in the filter forced the district to spend a lot of extra time and resources to ensure student safety.

We were spending a lot of time chasing the wrong things,” says John Mansell, Director of Student Services. “The problems with our old filter were really time consuming and kept my team from our other responsibilities.

The problems with our old filter were really time consuming and kept my team from our other responsibilities.

John Mansell, Director of Student Services, Lauderdale County School District

Solution

To better protect LCSD’s students and to free up his team for other critical tasks, Mr. Mansell switched to Lightspeed Filter.

Lightspeed Filter is the best-in-class solution that protects students from harmful material to ensure their online safety. Lightspeed Systems® has the most mature and complete K-12 database in the industry, leveraging human review by data scientists and advanced AI technology to block inappropriate sites—including new and unknown ones—while still allowing access to critical educational materials. Lightspeed Filter helps technology teams scale student safety with device-level protections that work across all devices, operating systems, and learning environments. Whether it’s protecting take-home devices or customizing blocklists for grade level, the filter has districts covered with SSL decryption on all devices, on the network and off, all in the cloud.

Built for out-of-the-box CIPA compliance, Lightspeed Filter leverages 20 years of web-indexing to filter more than 60 million URLs into 138 default categories. With granular settings at the local level, Mr. Mansell now has full control and can categorize websites in each student group. In addition to being spared so many false alerts, he can also block new and unknown websites before they have been categorized in the database.

Results

Lightspeed Filter just works better in lots of ways,” says Mr. Mansell. “Now I can actually go home and get eight hours of sleep a night.” Mr. Mansell explains that, now that LCSD has adopted Lightspeed Filter, he doesn’t have to worry so much. The filter allows students to access age-appropriate materials—say, an essay about Harper Lee—while also blocking malicious content.

Mr. Mansell also stresses that adopting Lightspeed Filter has been especially beneficial to the district’s social workers in their efforts to better serve students struggling with mental and emotional health. “Our social workers are much happier with this filter,” he says. “It does a better job if a student talks about being depressed or cutting or other forms of self-harm. This filter does a really good job flagging that sort of online activity, which helps us get these students the help and counseling services they need. I really think we’ve saved some lives.

While demanding less time and fewer resources from the IT team than the district’s previous filter, Lightspeed Systems is helping LCSD better protect its students from dangerous content, maintain their access to critical materials, and help promote public health. “Lightspeed just makes a really good filter,” Mr. Mansell concludes. “I would recommend it to other districts.”

The filter does a really good job helping us get students the help and counseling services they need. I really think we've saved some lives.

John Mansell, Director of Student Services, Lauderdale County School District
lauderdale county school district logo

Info

Location:

Lauderdale County, Alabama

Customer Since:

2019

Students:

8,500

Grades:

K-12

Devices Used:

Chromebooks

Solutions:

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

About Lightspeed Systems

Lightspeed Systems, headquartered in Austin, Texas, is a leading online safety and effectiveness platform for K–12 schools. A proven partner for student safety and engagement, Lightspeed uses advanced AI to view and analyze student activity across the web. Lightspeed serves over 20 million students in 38 countries and 28,000 schools globally.

Further Reading