联合学习信托(United Learning Trust)在COVID-19大流行及以后期间确保设备安全

联合学习信托基金(United Learning Trust)是英国最大的多学院信托基金,拥有75家中小学和15所独立学校。

戴夫·蒙罗(Dave Munro)担任联合学习(United Learning)的高级技术专家已有18个月,帮助采购了新学院,并为他们提供了必要的IT协助。他告诉我们:“我们在整个信托机构中都有一支技术专家团队,可以为现场或第三方的IT团队提供指导,建议和支持。” “我们在学校上方有一个额外的层,可以帮助进行项目,采购和任何正在推出的计划。”

新问题

Dave和他的团队没有预见到的一个项目是COVID-19大流行,该大流行迫使全国各地的学校关闭并为远程学习和1:1部署制定临时计划。对于个别学校而言,这是一项比较简单的任务,但要获得联合学习的规模的信任,他们将需要正确的解决方案以实现可扩展性和安全性。首要的障碍是找到适合学生继续在家学习的设备,在研究了可用的平台之后,他们决定Chromebook是最简单,最具成本效益的选择。 “当我们经历这个过程时,我们希望找到一个对现场IT团队影响尽可能小的解决方案。” Dave回忆说。 “我们之所以选择Chrome设备,是因为我们知道我们可以集中管理它们,而且我们知道过滤也需要集中管理。”

Dave知道,没有任何限制地使用Chromebook的学生是不合适的,因此必须在部署前找到正确的安全解决方案。他发现Lightspeed Systems®正在提供对 光速滤镜™ 适用于需要立即在远程设备上进行过滤和监控的学校。他透露:“我们学校中的一些网络管理员向我们通报了Lightspeed过滤器的延长试用期,我们渴望利用它。” “我们只有很短的时间来实现这一目标。我们让Chromebook在现场登陆,技术团队使用Lightspeed Filter对其进行了设置,然后将其分发给孤立的学生,让他们继续学习。”

我们希望找到一个对现场IT团队影响最小的解决方案。

Dave Munro,高级技术专家

Lightspeed滤波器的新解决方案

Lightspeed过滤器的强大智能代理技术给United Learning留下了深刻的印象,该过滤器可立即部署到所有Chromebook。这使他们可以适当地自定义过滤规则,而不必让每个学校的IT部门参与。 David宣称:“在试用期间,我们正在寻找其他解决方案,但是我们决定坚持使用Lightspeed过滤器,因为它可以完成我们需要的一切,而且绝对是绝妙的。” “事实上,我们可以如此迅速地推出它,并集中保护学生在异地工作,这意味着我们不必影响本地IT团队,这是我们的主要担忧之一。”由于英国学校的锁定已结束,因此联合学习继续在其学校中使用Lightspeed过滤器。通过将其用于现场和在线课程的混合,他们很快发现它具有许多教育功能,这超出了远程学习的要求。  

在试用期间,我们正在寻找其他解决方案,但我们决定坚持使用Lightspeed过滤器,因为它可以完成我们需要的一切,而且绝对出色。

Dave Munro,高级技术专家

就目前而言,所有学校都是在信任级别上进行管理的,这意味着对策略和功能的任何更改均由Dave的团队控制,但是前进的情况可能并非如此。 “我们将所有设备都放到了Google的联合学习中心中,因此,即使我们对各个学校进行了分层,也都由中央控制”,Dave说道。 “展望未来,我们希望将访问权委派给每所学校,这是我们所知道的有关Lightspeed过滤器的另一件事。”

注重教育的功能

Dave还热衷于利用Lightspeed过滤器的其他功能来帮助学校加强学习:其中之一是YouTube的Smart Play。受信任的学校提倡将YouTube用作学习工具,但始终担心学生未经过滤使用该材料可能会访问不适当的材料。 Smart Play使他们能够直接过滤YouTube并针对不同的学生对其进行自定义,以确保他们仍然可以安全地访问教育内容。 “我们已激活Smart Play,并赞赏它阻止了所有评论和相关视频等方面。”他指出。

现在,无论在家中还是学校中都可以使用设备,Lightspeed过滤器中基于时间的可自定义策略允许United Learning优先考虑学生的健康。 “我们限制从晚上8:00到晚上8:00的互联网访问。我们不希望它们一天24小时都在设备上使用。” Dave宣称。 “这的意思是,我们可以根据是小学还是中学来更改限制和访问权限。我们可以针对不同的学校制定单独的政策。”

当学生更多地使用设备时,学校将面临的另一个问题是网络欺凌和其他有害行为的增加。幸运的是,当学生试图访问危险场所或表现出令人担忧的行为时,Lightspeed Alert™利用先进的AI技术并发出警报以实时通知学校。 “我们已经设置了Lightspeed警报,以通知我们有关自我伤害的行为。” Dave解释说。 “例如,如果有人通知学生搜索了有关自残的物品,那么我们会集中标记,并将其报告给学校的DSL并转发所有详细信息。”幸运的是,对于联合学习,到目前为止,他们还没有收到太多警报,但是要能够积极主动并获得完整的活动日志以及学生行为的截图,这是确保受到保护的一种好方法。

结论

对于联合学习在部署期间及以后需要的任何技术帮助或修复,他们可以联系我们的支持团队,他们可以24/7全天候为您解决任何问题,并指导他们完成整个过程。 “当我们与技术支持人员交谈时,他们已经解决了我们迅速解决的所有问题。” Dave宣称。

最终,最初作为解决前所未有的锁定问题的解决方案,现在已经演变成一个正确的平台,可以确保多个学校和学生的安全,无论他们是在家工作还是在学校工作。 Dave和他的团队能够将新的学校添加到信任中,并几乎立即部署Lightspeed过滤器。 Dave总结道:“谈到在Chrome设备上轻松部署Lightspeed过滤器以及管理起来多么容易,这是适合我们所处情况的正确解决方案。” “如果有学校问我有关过滤解决方案的问题,我会全力推荐。它为您提供了现场和远程相同级别的过滤;设置和配置非常容易,并且可以正常工作。”

谈到在Chrome设备上轻松部署Lightspeed过滤器以及管理起来多么容易,这是正确的解决方案。

Dave Munro,高级技术专家
联合学习信托徽标

信息

位置:

英国

客户以来:

2020年4月

受保护的学生:

15,000+

年份组:

11年级接待

使用的设备:

Chromebook,Windows笔记本电脑

解决方案:

Lightspeed 过滤器™ Lightspeed 警报™

分享

进一步阅读

桌面和移动设备上用于远程学习软件的屏幕截图

这是一个演示,在我们身上

还在做你的研究吗?
让我们帮忙!与我们的一位产品专家安排免费演示,以快速回答您的所有问题。

坐在笔记本电脑办公桌前的男人看着 Lightspeed 过滤器仪表板

欢迎回来!

正在寻找我们解决方案的定价信息?
让我们知道您所在地区的要求,我们很乐意为您提供定制报价。

Already a Lightspeed Systems customer or partner?
Contact Sales:
|

United Learning Trust Keep Devices Safe During the COVID-19 Pandemic and Beyond

United Learning Trust is the largest multi-academy trust in the UK with 75 primary and secondary academies and a further 15 independent schools.

Dave Munro has worked as a Senior Technology Specialist at United Learning for 18 months, helping to procure new academies, as well as giving them any necessary assistance with IT. “We have a team of technology specialists throughout the trust who provide guidance, advice, and support to the IT teams on-site or to third parties,” he tells us. “We’re there as an extra layer above the schools helping with projects, procurements, and any initiatives that are being pushed out.”

New Problems

One project that Dave and his team didn’t foresee was the COVID-19 pandemic which forced schools around the country to close and create impromptu plans for remote learning and 1:1 deployments. This was a simpler task for individual schools, but for a trust of United Learning’s size, they were going to need the right solutions for scalability and safety. The first hurdle was finding the right devices for students to continue learning at home and, after researching the available platforms, they decided that Chromebooks were the simplest and most cost-effective option. “When we went through this process, we wanted to find a solution which would have as little impact on the IT teams on-site as possible” Dave recalls. “We went for Chrome devices because we knew we could centrally manage them and we knew the filtering would need to be centrally managed as well.”

Dave knew that students using the Chromebooks without any restrictions wouldn’t be appropriate, so finding the right safety solution before they were deployed was imperative. He discovered that Lightspeed Systems® was offering extended trials of the Lightspeed Filter™ for schools that needed immediate filtering and monitoring on remote devices. “Quite a few of our network managers in the schools informed us of the extended trial of Lightspeed Filter, which we were keen to take advantage of” he reveals.  “We had a very short period to get this implemented. We had Chromebooks landing on-site, with the tech teams setting them up with Lightspeed Filter and then issuing them out to the students who were in isolation allowing them to continue their learning.”

We wanted to find a solution which would have as little impact on the IT teams on-site as possible.

Dave Munro, Senior Technology Specialist

New Solutions with Lightspeed Filter

United Learning was impressed by the unique Smart Agent technology that powers the Lightspeed Filter which could be immediately deployed to all of the Chromebooks. This allowed them to customise the filtering rules appropriately without having to involve every individual school’s IT department. “During the trial, we were looking at other solutions, but we decided to stick with Lightspeed Filter because it does everything we need and it’s just been absolutely brilliant” David proclaims. “The fact we could roll it out so quickly and safeguard our students off-site centrally meant we didn’t have to impact the local IT teams, which was one of our main concerns.” Since lockdown ended for schools in the UK, United Learning continued to use Lightspeed Filter for their schools. By utilising it for a mixture of on-site and online lessons they soon discovered that it has many educational features, beyond what’s required for remote learning.  

During the trial, we were looking at other solutions, but we decided to stick with Lightspeed Filter because it does everything we need and it's just been absolutely brilliant.

Dave Munro, Senior Technology Specialist

As it stands, all of the schools are managed at trust level which means any changes to policies and features are controlled by Dave’s team, but this probably won’t be the case moving forward. “We put all of the devices into one central United Learning Google tenancy, so even though we have the separate schools tiered, it’s all controlled centrally” Dave shares. “Going forward we’re looking to delegate access to each school, which was another thing about the Lightspeed Filter that we know works.”

Education-focused Features

Dave was also keen to utilise the other features of Lightspeed Filter that could help schools enhance learning: one of them being Smart Play for YouTube. Schools under the trust advocated the use of YouTube as a tool for learning but were always worried about the potentially inappropriate material students could access when using it unfiltered. Smart Play enables them to filter YouTube directly and customise it for different students, ensuring they could still safely access educational content. “We’ve got Smart Play activated and appreciate the aspects it blocks like all the comments and related videos.” he notes.

With devices now being used at home and in school, the customisable time-based policies in Lightspeed Filter allows United Learning to prioritise students’ well-being. “We limit internet access overnight from 8:00 PM to 8:00 AM. We didn’t want them on the device 24 hours a day” Dave declares. “What it does mean is we can change the limitations and access based on whether it’s for primary or secondary schools. We can have separate policies for different schools.”

Another problem schools will face when students have more access to devices is the increase in cyberbullying and other harmful behaviour. Fortunately, Lightspeed Alert™ utilises advanced AI technology and alerts to notify schools in real time when students attempt to access dangerous sites or show worrying behaviour. “We’ve got Lightspeed Alert set up to notify us on behaviours relating to self-harm” Dave explains. “If there’s a notification for instance that a student has searched something concerning to do with self-harm, then we get a flag centrally, we report that down to the DSL in the school and forward all the details.” Fortunately for United Learning, they haven’t had too many alerts come back so far, but to be able to be proactive and get a full activity log with screenshots of students’ behaviour is a great way to ensure they are protected.

Conclusion

For any technical assistance or fixes United Learning have needed during the deployment and beyond, they’re able to contact our support team who are available 24/7 to help with any issues and guide them through the process. “When we’ve spoken to the tech support guys, they’ve fixed any issues when we’ve had them pretty rapidly” Dave declares.

Ultimately, what started off as a solution to an unprecedented lockdown has evolved into the right platform to keep multiple schools and students safe, whether they’re working from home or back in school. Dave and his team are able to add new schools on to the trust and get the Lightspeed Filter deployed almost instantly. “When it came to the ease of deployment of the Lightspeed Filter on Chrome devices, and how easy it was to manage, it was the right solution for the situation we were in” Dave concludes. “If any school would ask me about a filtering solution I’d recommend it wholeheartedly. It gives you the same level of filtering on-site and remotely; it’s been really easy to set up and configure and it just works.”

When it came to the ease of deployment of the Lightspeed Filter on Chrome devices, and how easy it was to manage, it was the right solution.

Dave Munro, Senior Technology Specialist
United Learning Trust logo

Info

Location:

United Kingdom

Customer Since:

April 2020

Students Protected:

11,807

Year groups:

Reception-Year 11

Devices Used:

Chromebooks, Windows Laptops

Solutions:

Lightspeed Filter™

Share On

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
man sitting at desk on laptop looking at Lightspeed Filter dashboard

View Our Pricing

Looking for pricing information for our solutions? Let us know about your district’s requirements and we’ll be happy to build a quote based on your unique situation.

Before you go...

Help us serve you better.